The art of sewing, a creative alternative

in #life6 years ago

The word "Couture" means making, although it also refers to fashion design and the art of sewing. The "Haute Couture" and the "Fashion Design" for mass production, differ in that the first one is made in an artisanal way and tailored to the client. In the second, we start with a basic design, to which we apply standardized measures to produce garments in various sizes and in large quantities. In this way more people can access them.

Normally, "Haute Couture" requires more expensive and elegant fabrics, unlike mass production clothes.

Taking measurements and making the pattern. A way to capture your designs.


When I made my first clothes, I had no idea of the theoretical basis of sewing. I only bought a meter of lace and invented my own molds. I made a couple of bras, that adapt to my measure and that did not cost me a whole year of work.

I made these first pieces by hand. Thanks to that I made a very simple design, I achieved it. But not before damaging enough fabric and patching the same piece over and over again. In this way I discovered that the art of sewing also requires preparation and discipline.

The patterns are the figures we draw on a sheet of bond paper or other similar material. There we design our garments with the measurements and the marks that it requires to guide us. After this, we transfer the design to the fabric, cut and sew.

To learn how to make patterns, we must first know how to take measurements and copy simple patterns, until we achieve the most complicated ones. It is advisable to start making exact copies of the basic designs, and then add your own style.

The fashion designer is someone that many clothing stores and big brands require. It is the fundamental creative piece within the garment industry.

The sewing machine and technical aspects of sewing


My great aunt gave it to me this first sewing machine this year. It is a Singer machine from a few years ago, but it is very heavy and firm.

The important thing in a sewing machine is that it is heavy and has drag force. This one I have is from the old ladies and can sew almost any fabric. It is important to use the correct needles, one thin for fine fabrics and one thick for Blue Jean or Leather.


First you must learn to wind and thread the thread. If the thread does not make the correct path in the threading, the seam may be loose or the thread may burst. After this, it is important that you practice with old cloth or a cheap material before sewing directly your first clothes.


The freedom and comfort of wearing clothes that suit you.

The first thing I noticed when using my first clothes is comfort, since these are made to me and how I like to wear clothes.

The clothes size S, M, L and XL, often adapt to our body, but sometimes not. Making clothes is making sure that everything will be adjusted to your needs. Besides, it's an elegant way to produce your own image.

Another important thing is the freedom you have with less money. In this way, we can fill our wardrobe and that of our family and friends.

A work alternative and a fun pastime


For a person who has another career, sewing can become a relaxing and exciting pastime. It also opens the doors of creativity and expression from another point of view.

If you want to do sewing, your profession and your life, you will be doing a very good job. It is especially important in countries where it is more difficult to access quality clothing because of the high costs. Now that temperatures are going down in Venezuela, with this data, you'll want to make some sweaters for you and your friends.

Sort:  

@caripiano, I gave you an upvote on your post!

If you are interested in claiming free Byteballs ($10+), just for having a Steem account, please visit this post for instructions: https://steemit.com/steem/@berniesanders/do-you-want-some-free-byteballs

Thank you! I gave you an upvote to that post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58