Water - What I Drink

in #life7 years ago (edited)


Hello my Aqua-Steemians,

Here is a video on Dr. Morse's opinion on what water is best.


(my distiller, roughly $200-$250)

Me personally, I have been distilling my water for about a year now. If I can't drink my distilled water, I resort to bottled spring water(plastic..sigh). Reason is, as I was waking up, it hit me really hard one day.."Why the F is the government putting fluoride in my drinking water." It freaked me out that I hadn't thought too much into it before. Then going online there are all these theories about the harm of fluoride and the reasons why it's in the water. My opinion, the government putting fluoride in our water for "health" and "dental health" is such BS. Because now, those chemicals are in my shower water and tap water, which we use to water our plants. The unavoidable nature of this tempered water shows me the intentions have to go a bit deeper.

Overall, I distill my water because now I have the freedom over what water I drink. First, the government has no right to put neuro toxic chemicals, like fluoride, or chlorine, in the water system. That is an anti-thesis of freedom. We as life forms are made of mostly water, it's sacred! No way a controlling body should dictate what happens to MY water..OUR water. There should be a vote, or they should personally consult me. Secondly, there are now so many contaminants and pollution runoff in the water (think microplastic beads for example) that tap water simply isn't healthy for consumption. Distilling does a good job at eliminating a lot of these chemicals and contaminants.


Another thought, if you think what happened in Flint Michigan is an isolated case, I strongly suggest we think again. I'm sure it's happening everywhere. I'm sure water pipe infrastructure is very outdated. Living in Montreal for several years, we had more than one "public water scare." We as people need to start putting more conscious effort and thought into topics such as the water system.

Climate change is one thing. But pollution, especially water pollution, is another, and to me this is more important. One day I hope to own my own spring fed water supply. My property, my water, my rules.

Lots of love,
Captain Pearson - Shuǐ zhànshì

Sort:  

How long does your distiller to produce say a gallon of water. Also what is your opinion of filtering the water not to include RO (reverse osmosis). Lastly what is your opinion of RO. I'm not trying to be nosy but I am in the market of getting some water filtration system and I trying to figure the best way to go. Thank you.

@outwalking Appreciate the interest. You're not nosy don't be silly :D !! It takes like 4-5 hours to produce a gallon of water, which is fine, works for a family of 3-4, and for 1 person it's more than enough. From what I've research distillation and RO is the only way to eliminate fluoride. I distill because I found that RO systems were more costly and complicated. My distillation is fairly straightforward.

Thanks for the information. I really don't think I will go with the RO because it sounds like it takes 3 or so gallons to produce 1 gallon. To me that's too much waste. I would seem like distillation would make the purest water. Doesn't distillation involve changing water to steam and condensing the steam back to water. I can't see how any contaminates could remain in the distillate. Thanks again.

Yeah, that is basically what distillation does. Along with the distiller I showed you need to periodically change the charcoal filter and use some sort of solution to clean the distiller tank once it's filled with nasty residue/sediment (citric acid comes with it).

Similar to a coffee pot, I'd imagine (sans the charcoal filter). I guess using something like citric acid would be better than bleach or sodium hypochlorite. I think the bleach would leave an aftertaste. I know bleach and sodium hypochlorite are the same but I found out that bleach will break down after a while. Sodium hypochlorite (dry form) has a longer shelf life and takes up less room. I found it at a pool supply store. Make sure you get it without algaecide. Well enough of my blabbing, thank you for the information and have a good evening.

yeah no need for bleach, that's some strong and toxic stuff. Vinegar would be a good alternative, lots of online testimonials with vinegar. You just want to make sure the sediment and residue doesn't permanently damage the inside of the filter. After every distillation there's always sediment of some sort, and you say to yourself, "wow, that shits in my tap water!?"

Yeah, I do say that. Another think I thought about was I treat the garden with cow manure and then I eat the vegetables so in essence I am eating cow poop. Pleasant thoughts. And I do like the idea of using vinegar instead of bleach. You're funny. Thank you for the laugh.

The Heroes Journey my friend!

THIS -> "One day I hope to own my own spring fed water supply. My property, my water, my rules"

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by captainpearson from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28