Charlie Munger's 10 Rules for Success

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Just wanted to share. If you have some time, this video is well worth it.
Charlie Munger: The Psychology of Human Misjudgment
maxpixel.freegreatpicture.com-Office-Business-Arts-Success-Coffee-Communication-973903.jpg
Here are my thoughts, please feel free to share your thoughts in the comments below.

1. Always Keep Learning

  • This has always been a core principle of my life. I learn for the sake of knowing. As a child, I drove my parents nuts with questions, they pointed me to the library. I would walk home from the library each week with a stack of books on various subjects from geology to dynamics of flight. If I had a question, I found the answer in the good ole card catalog. Now with the internet and .epubs, My own library far exceeds the one I lived with as a child.
    books-2007660_640.jpg

2. Deserve What you want


Doing what is right, being transparent and honest. With this you get everything you need.

3. Know the Edge of your own competency


This one has been a very valuable lesson in my life. Knowing when to close your mouth and realize you may not know enough about a subject to ramble. When this happens, I try to look for experts, or resort to #1, and learn on my own.

4. Be a survivor


Life isn't easy. Sometimes it goes well. My wife and I like to think of it as a roller-coaster ride. When things are looking easy, we think to ourselves. Woot! We just must be going up out of the bottom. We don't lose sight that we will encounter another dip soon. This keeps us grounded in reality and allows us to tackle many obstacles.

5.Practice the Right Approach


This is one of my weaknesses, I like to do and plan less then I should. Having a plan in place and practicing that plan is a great way to be prepared for anything. I recognize I need to get better at this and have been working on it.

6. Understand what you are doing


If you don't know what you are doing, and why, you should consider going back to the planning stage. Every great project starts with understanding what your result will be.

7. Invest in Trust


Having a trusted circle is one of the great joys of life. We are social animals and we rely on the trust of those around us. I need to work on this more as I tend to distrust most people that they are following their own needs and wants first and foremost.

8. Know all of the Big Ideas


This has been one of my mantra's for a long time. Every human should know our roots and our reasons for the past. History is a great blueprint to build the future. Without knowing at least a little of it, you live your life in a box.

9. Swim as competently as you can.


"Just keep swimming!", if you continue to try, you will always improve.

10. Don't submerge into self pity


Things are going to go wrong, people are going to be mean. You are so very important and nothing that happens to you should make you forget that tomorrow you can build something better.

Looking forward to hearing all of your thoughts, please share below.

image source: pixelbay ( https://pixabay.com/p-2007660/?no_redirect ) and http://maxpixel.freegreatpicture.com/Office-Business-Arts-Success-Coffee-Communication-973903

Sorry for all the edits. My spelling has been broken today.

Sort:  

I was headed to your page to check up to see how you've been doing, totally delighted to find a post from you! I agree with every one of your points and I think I might need to know my own edge instead of overdoing it. Thanks for the reminder ⭐️

I have been nose down into my current project of late. Came up for some air and the video reminded me that I have some improvement to do, figured putting it out to the world is a great way to self motivate the improvement. Was glad to see your post on your site in the same mindset!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by captain-nemo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @captain-nemo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @captain-nemo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!


Just wanted to gift you a little banner I made for you, thank you for being supportive of my blog from the get-go. I appreciate it.

This is awesome. Thank you so much. I am still alive and well, as soon as my project is standing on it's own I will be able to go back to blogging! Right now it is just a wee baby that needs constant attention!

Yay! Welcome back dear friend, I wish you the best in your projects completion and success. And I totally understand in regards to starting something, I'm expanding my business (or trying to) and it's been quite hectic and time consuming. Hugs your way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55