You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our DREAM PARADISE is being washed by the RIVER. (part 1 of our experience living in El Salvador as family)

in #life7 years ago

Wow! What a sad experience. I could feel some of your pain by reading this and looking at the pictures. That was a beautiful home.

I lived in El Salvador myself for 9 months. My ex-husband had come to Canada as a 15-yr-old and we moved to Ahuachapan to start a clutch-rebuilding business after the civil war ended.
Santa Ana was the closest large city, so I have been there a few times.

Sort:  

Thank you so much @canadian-coconut for your kind words. And yes we miss our beach house a lot.
Wow. That is amazing. I got really excited when you said you lived in El Salvador in Ahuachapan for 9 months. We have family in Ahuachapan, so we spend a lot of time there too. That is so cool. How did you like living in El Salvador?

My surname was Ortiz. If Canaco Clutch is still there, that was mine.
I came back to Canada in 1997.
My ex moved back to Canada a couple of years ago with his new family too, but perhaps your family has met David.

There were so many things that I loved about living in El Salvador. The people were very friendly. My mother-in-law and sister-in-law and most of their family treated me wonderfully. It was very eye-opening to live in such a different place. I did miss many things about my time there. But sadly the situation with my husband turned terrible when he decided to take on a mistress and broke my heart as well as taking all my investment.

Anyways, that is in the past and I have a great life now.
I'm still great friends with his family members that still live near me in Canada. (He was the youngest of 8.)
His family never turned against me that whole time, and I really wish that I could see his sister Zoily again who treated me with such kindness.

I'm actually back in Canada since 2014, we had to come back to finish some things, but we want to go back to El Salvador real soon, but not sure how soon. But maybe my family did know David, I'll have to ask them and when I go back I will look if your Canaco Clutch company is still there.
I totally agree with you that the El Salvadorian people are very, very friendly. My mother-in-law and sisters-in-law are amazing too, they all live in Canada, (Vancouver) but my mother-in-law also wants to go back to El Salvador.
Really sorry for the terrible time you had to go through with your ex-husband and your company. I can't imagine how you must have felt, that would totally destroy me and yes, unfortunately, you see too much of this kind of behavior with El Salvadorian men and their young mistresses. It's terrible and I'm sorry you had to go through that.
But like you said that is in the past and you have a wonderful life now and that's all that counts. Really cool that you still keep in contact with his family. We have to keep in touch so that when I go back to Ahuachapan I can find your company and take a picture for you.

Yes, great!
Let me know if your family knows my ex in-laws. Or maybe they even remember the Canadian "Gringa" who lived there for a while. I only knew of one other white person living there (an American man who ran a school and church.) I saw some white mormon missionaries occasionally, but strangely they wouldn't even make eye contact with me or give me a smile when we passed each other on the streets. Pretty odd since we were all foreigners and I would have thought they would have said hi to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62108.38
ETH 2582.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57