The Elephant in the Room

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I had a great weekend.

I did absolutely nothing.

And it was everything to me.

I ate and drank.

And I did happen to fit in a couple of showers.

And a nap.

And a workout.

I decided not to pressure myself to write anything this weekend if I didn’t want to.

So I wrote this weird poem.

I decided my life – at least this weekend, would play out as a lazy dream.

I recharged my battery – and I’m not talking about the one on my phone; I actually let that one drain.

I also didn’t read a single bit of news.

I was quite literally in my own little world this weekend.

I received a handwritten letter in the mail from my aunt; how many people actually handwrite letters these days???

I took my dogs to the park.

I watched a dove as it rested on my balcony.

I enjoyed the simple taste of water.

I listened to some music.

Now, as Sunday comes to a close, I wonder if I should ever leave my own little world?

Or maybe I should gradually take pieces of it into upcoming workweeks until my own little world consumes my whole week?

Why are weekends only 2 days?

Do I really need all the things I tell myself I need during the workweek?

What if I don't need anything at all?

The thought has crossed my mind to call in sick tomorrow – so I can take my dogs to the park again.

Rat race, you're the elephant in the room. No one wants to discuss you or do anything about you, but you're there -- stepping all over everyone. We talk like you're normal, like you're humane.

I'm breaking up with you, rat race. I'm won't sugarcoat it for you. It's not me -- indeed, it's you. I won't be spoken to that way again.

Slowly but surely, I am mentally separating myself from the brainwashed, society-endorsed confines of the rat race, one carefree weekend at a time. It’s only a matter of time before the physical separation happens.

Every step away from you, rat race, is bold and brave. Every step, no matter how small, is a symbol of self-respect and yet another piece of my life retrieved.

etc_elephantroom50__01__630x420.jpg

Sort:  

You must be a happy person. Written like happy person discovered greater happiness. It also seemed you were all over the place, I couldn't follow towards the end. What rat race are you talking about? We all need weekends like that. Good job spreading positive vibes.

I did similar things although mainly out of physical necessity as I do physical labor​ to survive....
One of the damn ironies of capitalism is that only the capitalists can escape it...
Anyway, one always has to hold multiple perspectives, I suppose ​and trying to see the purpose in any given situation can sometimes help us cope with the mundane.....
Good, ​you got to rest, though.....

1000000% agree.
The rat race is overrated.
They take pretty 40% of our earnings anyway.
Ever hear the book rich dad, poor dad? A steemian recently introduced it and its quadrants to me. ...we rat racers are in the "E" (employed) quadrant taxed the highest (as you said it's humane right? )
I want to slowly move out of the E and into the "I" independent quadrant where I'm not taxed to the breaking point!
And also enjoy more of the simplicities of life :)
Resteemed

Ah, yes. I read that book back in the day. It might be due for a re-read.

There's no way we can ever get ahead being part of the E quadrant. Getting out of it might be easier than we think if we are honest about what we "need" expense-wise...it's a lot less than we think.

Thanks for the resteem!

Good point about "needs"

  • No, your family of 4 doesn't need a $900,000, 5000' square foot home.
  • No, you don't need a gucci this, a coach that
  • that watch can wait
  • you can wear the same summer dress more than 1 year in a row (hmm...mine are ancient in comparison to that lol)
  • no you don't need a luxury brand car, the honda will do

Yes! I can honestly don't say I have any of those luxury items and don't want them. Glad I can talk to someone who can relate.

I don't have a Honda, but I have a Subaru -- close enough. :)

I hear subarus are great! Lol neither do I , don't need it to be happy as you said

I highly recommend Subarus, especially the older ones. Mine has served me well in both Colorado and California. And it's paid off. Never had a problem with it mechanically or otherwise. :)

Being paid off is the best!

;)

I hope @abcdoctor can swim.

Like you have no idea! Back in his country they call him @abcdolphin!

Your writing really inspires me! Sounds like you had a great weekend. <3

I decided my life – at least this weekend, would play out as a lazy dream.

I've scheduled it so that most of my weekends play out as lazy dreams - no more pushing myself to write 7 days a week until I burn out and collapse. So much of being human seems lost when we push ourselves to be productive constantly.

It sounds like I can learn a lot from you. :)

Every step is bold and brave! It is inspiring to witness your mental shifting; you're going to make it!

I sure hope so!!

I loved the lines, rat race, you are the elephant in the room.

Reading this post on a Monday morning makes me feel like going to bed again :)

You have my permission. :)

It's still 8:18pm Sunday here...

hi, I live in Myanmar Country.
Please.follow and vote me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58188.83
ETH 2585.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40