Steemit Makes Me Believe in Serendipity

in #life7 years ago

The longer I write on Steemit (which obviously hasn't been very long), the more things I realize that I'd never realized before. I think many of you who write your own pieces on here can relate to these realizations or even perhaps have awesome realizations of your own. 

Before I list out these things I've realized, though, I'd like to talk about feelings...and change.

Even Brick Walls Can Be Knocked Down

Normally, I'm not one to put my feelings on display for anyone except maybe one or two people, and sometimes not even that many. I've locked my feelings up more than I'd like to admit. In fact, I've often be compared to a brick wall when it comes to sharing my inner workings. Just ask my ex...

The thing is: people change. People cannot be coerced by others into changing -- not on a level that makes the change permanent and authentic anyway. The kicker is that people only change when the pain of not changing is greater than the discomfort felt in relation to that change. 

We all evolve and change over time; it's a natural part of aging -- a natural part of being. However, if you pay attention, you will see that those natural types of changes typically aren't so significant to where you can't recognize the person. It's always an organic, gradual process that tends to become obvious only every 10 years or so.

The type of change I'm referring to, the change I've been going though, almost always has to be initiated by a major internal (i.e.; mental breakdown) or external (i.e.; loss of a loved one) event in order to manifest. Like several things in life, I believe there is no shortcutting this process due to human nature. What I mean is, people theoretically can change by learning from others' mistakes, but because of good old human nature, they usually don't. It usually takes a personal blow to facilitate any necessary change. 

If you haven't already, you can read about what prompted my changes here

Now on to my list of personal realizations since writing on Steemit...

My List

  1. When people I know read the more emotional, subconscious pieces I've written, their immediate response is "Where did that come from??? You never express yourself that much or in that way." Yeah, I've changed. Steemit is living proof.
  2. The reason I've changed is because of the sense of community and acceptance I feel here at Steemit. I truly feel that no one is going to ridicule me for expressing my thoughts and exposing my authentic self. That would never be true on Facebook. There are 3 groups of Facebook friends I have: the ones who like to start a fight about anything and everything, the ones who like to give you the play-by-play on their lives/complain about everything, and the ones who ignore me. Definitely not an environment conducive to real change.
  3. I am the strangest writer in the world. I don't and can't write with an outline prior to writing a post. I have to just write and see what gets uploaded onto the page. Oftentimes, it surprises even me. My writing has to be subconsicous and straight from my heart. It's like magic, really. I honestly don't know the answer to "where did that come from?" and would kind of like to know, too. Or maybe it's best kept a secret...

Steemit is so beautiful! I think I'm going to cry happy Steemian tears. 

Sort:  

I can relate. No format needed. Just flow and write what you feel. It seems to just come all together. You read the finish post and your shock that it came together quite nicely. As if you took your time and really composed it. It's true, writing really does bring personal things to light. Like your inner self and consciousness is being reflected through your writings. A great self discovery in a great community like Steemit.

Exactly. You understand me. :)

I am so happy that Steemit can be a wrecking ball to your brick wall! You really can be true to yourself on this platform. I may cry happy Steemian tears with you! 😂

We might have to form a support group just to handle all the happy Steemian tears!

We really might need to! Count me in. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by themevlog from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

thanks for sharing @cali-girl! I also love to share subconscious stuffs that I don't know where it comes from.. :) stuffs straight from the heart.. it gives so much authenticity and value when we literally get naked in front of others, when we show our true nature.. it's inspiring what you're doing so keep on digging and sharing your gold! thank you again. peace

Thank you for reading! I appreciate it very much.

Cali, that's so good. I can so relate to what you wrote. Thanks for sharing it here. I have also just started on steemit, I also somehow get the feeling that something good and significant is taking shape here. Also writing streams of consciousness, there's something intuitive, cathartic liberating and connecting about it. Keep up the good work!

Absolutely! It's really quite amazing. I actually can't wait to see what this place is like in another year.

Congratulations @cali-girl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You're a good writer

Sweet and fun. Good to have you here! Hope @curie will accept my submission. I really loved your easygoing flow and read all the way to the end. Crying happy tears feels good

Thank you @mammasitta. You are so sweet. I'm honored that my writing is speaking to so many people; I honestly never expected any of this! <3

The best post I've read yet. Keep it up @cali-girl!

<3

I love the awareness you display in your own transition, following to watch your journey! 💡💡💡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09