Getting My Act Together

in #life6 years ago

Every day I make it a priority to brainstorm, write down and formulate an action plan on how to live a better life, AKA how to be a better person, AKA getting my act together. Getting your act together is the one single thing that would make the biggest difference in most peoples' lives, yet it is the one thing they hesitate to do; some people never manage to do it because their heads are so infested with excuses.

red-952950_1280.jpg

Photo source: pixabay.com

Is it human nature to hesitate when it comes to following through with actual improvement? I don't know. My first thought is that it's learned behavior of some sort. I know that I personally have a laundry list of detrimental automatic reactions/behavior patterns that I have to unlearn. Unlearning can only be achieved through rewiring our brains, which requires dedicated focus and practice. The unlearning process isn't what I want to write about here, though.

The first step of my personal quest to get my act together is to become more effective at managing myself and my emotions. Being effective and efficient do not come naturally to me because my thoughts are always all over the place. My first attempt at unlearning chaos is reading The Effective Executive by Peter Drucker. Look for a summary and analysis post after I finish reading it. :)

effective-executive.jpg


Happy Chinese New Year btw...

Sort:  

Happy Chinese New Years!

I thought you were done with the office life??!

I am, but that book applies to any aspect of life despite the horrible title. There's also the small detail that I still have to work in an office until my cryptos have blossomed into prosperity. :)

Gong Xi Fa Cai!!!

I'll read the whole post later, I promice :v

because their heads are so infested with excuses.

... and lie to themselves

when you hesitate, it's actually that exact thing which causes all your actions to be less effective.
Always imagine the speaker on the stage: when you sense that he's not 100% sure in things he speaks about, he will never makes you believe in that, right?
Same with actions, if you are not sure that they are 100% right and correct, they are more likely to lead to some wrong results.

But oh well, that's only my personal beliefs

Gong Xi Fa Cai!!!

I'll read the whole post later, I promice :v

I actually intentionally made a typo in the word promice so it won't be a real promise in case if I forget to read this post =)

I’ve seen a lot of people allow the fear of failing to dictate how their life is run. If it’s one thing I’m really good at in life it is failing. I much rather fail and have the set back then not to have tried in the first place. So I can understand how people become hesitate to make the needed changes they want in life to move forward.

Sometimes there's no better way to learn and move forward than to fail.

managing yourself and your emotions is I find all about trying to find that inner calm. I often find setting a goal and trying to achieve it helps focus the mind towards something positive.

Great blog, thanks for sharing.

I hope you had a great week and an even better weekend! I've been busy and not very active checking in on people I've been following as of late.

Hey! I've not been really active here lately either. I've been dealing with some family issues...might be moving soon. I hope all is well with you!

I did a 7 day race in a game for a completion here. I was far from placing but I had lots of fun. Very tired.

Have a great Sunday and a wonderful week! I hope things have not been very cold there. I can not wait for beach weather!

It's been a little chilly in the evening and at night, but nothing too horrible. We've been getting rain regularly, which is good for our drought, but a huge inconvenience when it comes to walking 3 fluffy dogs. :D We have one who tries to avoid water at all costs by pulling the leash and only walking under awnings, under trees or close to buildings, one who purposely walks over puddles and gets as wet as possible, and then the little guy who had 2 surgeries and gets tired -- meaning, he wants someone to pick him up for the rest of the walk after he does his business.

When is beach weather in Florida? I would say ours starts in June, but our hottest months are definitely September and October.

Congratulations @cali-girl! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16