We Are Not Invincible

in #life8 years ago

This post isn’t like my usual posts, but it has been weighing heavily on my mind for the past few days, so I would appreciate if you would indulge my thoughts. Someone very close to many people in my house was killed by a drunk driver on Thursday night. While I was not particularly close with her, I knew of her and from a distance, she looked like she had an extremely bright future ahead of her. Unfortunately now because of a selfish person, that future has been taken from her. I could talk about the dangers of drinking and driving, or talk about how the person who committed this act, but instead I want to talk about what has mostly been on my mind, which is the fleeting nature of human life.

It’s easy to think at a young age that we are invincible, in fact most people my age act on this very assumption all the time. It takes small moments in life to realize that we are not invincible, but rather quite the opposite. Despite all the marvelous functions that the human body has that make it durable, it still is extremely fragile. One injury in the wrong place and everything is over. This became evident to me more than many others when I had to undergo open heart surgery at 22 to repair one of my valves to avoid having an aneurism and death.

I remember waking up in the ICU and thinking “im alive” and in the next few months I realized the hard way how one thing can, in an instant change how you do everything. I had to work my way up from using the railings for aid as I went up the stairs, to standing in the shower on my own. I guess the point of my ramblings is that no one really knows what is going to happen day to day. I think about what her day must have been like, waking up and thinking “its just another normal day”, not knowing it would be her last, and this thought terrifies me. In some ways it makes me want to bubble myself up and avoid anything dangerous, but I know that is no way to live.

In reality , I too must live everyday with the possibility that some freak event could take my life without notice. You, as much as I could have been the one that was hit by that driver and have people talking about us. Instead of living in fear however, I believe we need to live our lives as best as we can in the short time we have been given. Life is a fleeting gift and one day it will end. The Japanese knew this well and acknowledged the fleeting nature of life as the most beautiful part. We are given a gift and must use it to make the world a better and happier place. I strive to arrive at the day where I can say that If I were to die tomorrow I would be happy with what I have accomplished.

My goal doesn’t mean I have to be rich, or invent something that moves mankind forward, rather it is the tiniest things that make a life meaningful. Comforting someone in a time of need, providing happiness and joy even for a brief moment to someone, these are the things that will make your life memorable. People make the mistake of valuing a life in dollars , but really one should value a life in the amount of joy someone has brought , because we know we all need more of that.

You don’t have to live your life like every day is the last, but take advantage of the small moments that show who you really are. Be the person that is there for people when they need it most, be the person people are thankful for. This life is a fleeting moment in time that in the grand scheme of things won’t matter to anyone but you and those you come in contact with. So live it with kindness and joy so that if one day you no longer are a part of this world, you will know that you made a difference to somebody.

-Calaber24p

Sort:  

This post hits very close to home, having lost a daughter in an auto accident 7 years ago. 3 days before her 23rd birthday, and a week before her college graduation. I still think of her every day.

Im speechless, that is something I could never imagine going through. There's nothing I can say that can ease your pain, but thinking of her everyday means that she was worth remembering and that she lived her life with love and kindness.

Thank you, @calaber24p. My family and I are at peace with it now. She was a lovely, vibrant girl who changed lives while she was alive. She is fondly remembered by many, and we are thankful to have been able to spend time with her in this world.

Sorry for your loss, my heart goes out to you and your beloveds. Great words of wisdom in there, thanks a bunch for this important and precious sharing. Nowadays, death is too much of a taboo and everyone would gain from reflecting more often on such matter. Namaste :)

Upvoted and followed. Very touchy post.

Great Post!

I am very grateful for your post. for quite different reasons I've been wrestling with just about the same things in my head.

https://steemit.com/life/@breezin/emotional-footprints

Well said. We all have finite time here and worrying about exactly when that duration expires ruins the experience of living. Best to come to terms early and just put one foot in front of the other to enjoy the time you have.

Very touching post. Regards to your family and hers!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.58 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 04 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Hi @calaber24p
Thank you for your post. As you say nobody know how long they have to live and that we need to make the most of our time on earth. We must however also make sure that we are ready to meet our maker, to ensure we will receive eternal life.

Thanks for your post ! Very wise thoughts ! I follow you ! Good luck !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49