Sometimes I Wish I Could Take The Blue Pill Every Day

in #life8 years ago

Sometimes I Wish I Could Take The Blue Pill Every Day

Not THAT blue pill, but the one from the Matrix. If you are unfamiliar with the scene I am talking about, the main character, Neo, is offered two pills and told to choose one in this iconic dialogue.

“This is your last chance. After this, there is no turning back. You take the blue pill—the story ends, you wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill—you stay in Wonderland, and I show you how deep the rabbit hole goes. Remember: all I'm offering is the truth. Nothing more.”

I often feel like Neo in my everyday life, looking around and seeing people with no care in the world or any desire to know the truth of the world around them. They have no interest in geopolitics, wars and injustices going on in the world, or simply how their own government is slowly increasing its reach into their lives every day. Ever since I was a child I wanted to know what was going on in the world and just how everything worked. Unfortunately it lead to me realize some harsh truths at a young age and most likely added to why I can sometimes be pessimistic about outcomes. I saw all the wars and conflicts going on in the world and realized that the people who were being slaughtered in their beds at night were no different than me, just had a bad luck of the draw.

As a child, these things don’t particularly make you care free optimist for the outcome of human civilization, and for me in particular lead to many worries and much anxiety growing up. It also doesn’t make you the life of the party and a fun person to be around, so I had to learn to keep these feelings inside and pretend like nothing was wrong. I knew the reality was that my life would likely never be affected directly by these things going on in the world yet I still felt a tinge of worry that they were happening and no one around me even cared.

I started to wonder if being ignorant and just moving through life without a major care in the world would make me happy. Im not the most unhappy person, but I haven’t had a feeling of great child like happiness in a very long time. Some days I wonder if I could just take the blue pill from The Matrix and I would wake up, like everyone else going to their jobs with the biggest problem in their life being whether or not the girl they liked, liked them back. I have come to the realization that I never had the happy childhood or school experiences that many people talk about having, especially in college where, despite having friends, never felt my age.

Part of me wants to be part of the sheep that I often joke about in my articles in a way that makes them seem inferior. If they are happy I would gladly be willing to give up anything to be like them. I think maybe our purpose in life is just to be happy and im wasting my life away by worrying about things that have no direct effect on my life. The truth is though, im not much different than the sheep I usually joke about. I have a slightly above average intelligence , but nothing that would make me an asset to the human race, like billions of other people out there.

Im sure everyones perspective and worries are equally as important to them, as mine are to me, and the grass is always greener on the other side, but too often do I feel like im missing out on something. If given the chance to trade lives today, I would almost definitely do it. Maybe I would be happy as a dog with no worries. I know other people feel this way, which is why I wrote the article in hopes of sharing with you that you aren’t the only one that feels this way. Sorry if it was a bit rambly, I usually do that when Im talking about person stuff, but this has just been on my mind recently. I want to end my article with a single quote from one of the characters in The Matrix “I know what you’re thinking, why oh why didn’t I take the blue pill”.

Sort:  

If given the chance to trade lives today, I would almost definitely do it.

I think the key is holding on to hope. From another great movie, Shawshank Redemption:

ANDY: Remember Red, hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies.

I still believe the truth will set you free. I believe you can be alive, awake, and aware while still enjoying life, love, and... liquor? (I just realized I was doing alliterations and went with it.)

To me, I treat it is a challenge. How can I enjoy the red pill reality while embracing life and the joy it can offer? Just as truth can be tough, it can also free you and others and being free is a wonderful thing. We can be hopeful for a better future and latch on to the truth of it coming to exist in our daily lives, even in small ways.

The blue pill is just another shade of grass, not necessarily a greener one. :)

great quote and insightful words thanks.

Is hope really that cut and dry?

In the story of Pandora's Box, it was the last thing in the box and was never released with the other evils. Perhaps without hope life is simply void of meaning or purpose. Yet, is this such a bad thing?

To quote Nietzsche,

'hope is the worst of evils, for it prolongs the torment of men'

We can create our own subjective purpose, once we engage with the meaninglessness of life.

Purpose implies hope, does it not? False hope and expectations lead to torment, IMO.

Hello, @calaber24p! Nice to see you here:)
I know exactly what you feel.
The world now is absolutelly fucked up, and as soon as we get a little bit older, we start to understand that everything that we were thaught is absolutely up side down. And as soon as you start to discover it more, you find more and more prooves that it's even worse.
This is the wirld we are liveing in. The heritage that is left to us by our parents and grandparents. With all the wars, nature polution, ridiculous behaviour, stupid stereotipes, violence and many many other things...
And when you understand it, it seems, that you are in a deep pice of shit and you proboly can't change nothing. It's hard even to talk to people sometimes. So senceless and pour the conversations nowadays. It even can lead to a dipression, and then you are looking for this so called "blue pill".
But I will please you my friend, everything is not so bad, how it seems. On the othe side we have all the good things, all the technologies of our century - internet, planes, cars, phones. All the infornation in your hand right now. We have all the power in the world to make it better, to change it for good. The way you and me, and We want it to be. The same pover that Neo discovered, only when he died.
Of course it's all good words, and everyone can talk about it. But if we be real, how can we act? How can we make this beautiful world come true?
First of all, by thinking we already are creating our own reality. Becouse every thought is leading you to word and action, and this how is becomes real.
So by learning how to control your thoughts, you can already start to create a change that you want to see. Then by simply doing what you belive is right, you already coming closer to the place you want to be. Sharing your ideas with your friends, and showing an example, while acting yourself. It is the way we create our happy reality. Not following expectations, but doing what is right for You. Don't be sheep, be a man.
It seems to be hard and almost impossible, and you can say, that what you can change, cuz you are just a small peace in this ocean.
You are the ocean itself. We all are the world we are living in. And even one person, that is awake is already a big deal. All that we have was made by this individuals who was brave enought to go forvard to their dreams. Gandhi, Janna Dark, Galileo. From new ones Julian Assange and may others. There is a thousands of heroes every day, whos names we don't even know.
Even you, writting this post, you already did something in this world to change it better.
Thank you very much for it! And I hope my words will change your opinion and you will forget about the blue pill and start to live a happy life and change the world to make it better:)
Wish you love and happiness. @fess

Thanks for all awesome words of encouragement @fess I really appreciate it. I hope that I can affect people in the way that the people you mentioned have. Thanks again.

You're right. Everyone just wants to eat the steak, whether it's real, or whether it's not.

Exactly. I completely understand why cypher did what he did.

Ignorance is bliss; but knowledge is power.
Always choose an uncomfortable truth over a comforting lie, then use that truth to build the world you want to inhabit.

Knowledge give you choices... ignorance means you are unaware of choice. I'll take the red pill with a double chaser!

Totally feel you, brother... Truth is NOT an easy path to tread... The thing that keeps me sane is spending time with nature, or animals, tbh - I have pretty much lost interest in human beings, although I will always do my best to remain open to the chance that someone interesting and real will happen along my path. It's important, I feel, to differentiate between the Earth and the World - the latter being a false creation imposed on top of the earth by mankind. The World is a fucking mess. The Earth, however, is always a wonder; and whenever I spend time in nature, my own true nature is reflected back at me in ways that keep me going. All of our problems stem from having too much time in the world and not enough time on the earth, imo. Which is why that dog you think you might be happy as is so appealing - in their simplicity and honesty, dogs reflect our true nature back to us - our nature before the world gets its claws into us and makes us hard, confused and complicated... Anyway, look, I'm rambling too! Sending love to you in your pain, my friend - remember, we may be scattered far and wide, but at least there are some truth-seekers out there for sure :o) - Jay

Once u start thinking outside the box or get hit with the truth, there is no going back to the ignorant state of mind. U can try but won't fit in as u were used to. Part of the reason is I believe we as human beings are not made to stay in these low vibrational states of thinking. Another I believe is that there is so much being brainwashed through decennia's and even centuries that we really feel alone when we open our perceptions of reality, but the truth will set us free. And as long as we can't have a global awakening we won't really progress to where we could actually be as a human species . We are made to thrive and prosper yet we seem to decline as societies. We have been to the moon in the 70's today 2106 they argue about bathroom genders, sports and other unimportant things while leaving the real important things at a side. This material world has got a hold on so many people that they see no other way, there is an other dimension of reality we cannot see with the human eye, but there is always more than meets the eyes in this world. I believe as more of us get to awaken, prosper and thrive more will follow till we could end up in a society of relevancy together lead by love, true happiness and peace.
postimage
Image source:
http://www.nowtheendbegins.com/how-barack-obama-created-the-transgender-construct-to-completely-reset-american-society/barack-obama-put-transgender-men-in-ladies-room-bathroom-bill-jfk-moon-end-times-lgbt-nteb-pink/

The grass is greener where you water it.

I agree , but im finding it hard to water it in my life because I feel stuck in the waiting place.

Some times the grass is greener on the other side because it's fake...


         ___---___                                                   
      .--         --.                                                
    ./   ()      .-. \.                                              
   /   o    .   (   )  \      YOU EARTH PEOPLE WALKED ON ME, THE MOON
  / .            '-'    \                                            
 | ()    .  O         .  |                                           
|                         |    NOW I'M GOING TO FUCKING WALK ON YOU  
|    o           ()       |                                          
|       .--.          O   |                                          
 | .   |    |            |    HURRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR        
  \    `.__.'    o   .  /     NEVER MIND MY MOON LEGS ARE TIRED      
   \                   /                                             
    `\  o    ()      /' jgs                                          
      `--___   ___--'                                                
            ---

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63927.21
ETH 2754.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65