Saying Goodbye To The Places You Once Called Home

in #life8 years ago

Ive only ever lived in two houses my entire life, my parents’ first house which I was born in and live to about age six and the current house I am in now for all the time after that. Having just graduated college and two of my other siblings moving out to find their own place in the world, my mother and I are left in a house too big for the both of us. It went up on the market a few months ago and today we finally receive an offer and it is going to be sold. This will be the last Christmas and New Years in my childhood home, which after we will move out and most likely find a small apartment somewhere until I move out myself.

                           (not my actual house for those wondering)

Its weird to be so attached to an object like a house, but as far as I can remember back, everything that has happened to me was in that childhood house. Good or bad, I still have memories that I want to remember. I am an adult now, but part of me always wanted to be able to keep that little piece of childhood I could visit if I ever needed to. Unfortunately I am now left feeling like everything I experienced there is slipping through my fingers. The realization that the place I called home for nearly 18 years of my life, will cease to be mine, is slowly hitting me. Someone else will call my childhood room home while I am forced to move forward.

All of my best friends growing up lived within a two block radius of my house. I remember the summer bike rides and walks down to the basketball courts and local convenient stores, just talking about life. My one friend moved to another state and my other two I have really just fallen out with over the years. Part of me more than anything wishes I could go back to those days, a much simpler time for me and my family. No worries other than just showing up to school and not having to think about the future. I lived in the moment , something I miss being able to do.

In many ways im still the same person I was back then, but now I am forced into a life that I know not the future. I will be looking for a job in a field I know only a little about and will be required to work long hours, only to return back to a two bedroom apartment that I don’t want to and can’t find myself calling home. Home may only be where you are living, but to me I was much more attached to my family home than I care to admit. Much of my days were spent in my basement with friends, watching movies and playing games like World Of Warcraft. My biggest fear is that without the room to remind me, all those memories will fade in time.

I know this is just part of growing up and a big part of moving on into your own life, but when your future seems grim, it’s a hard pill to swallow. I know that someday I will find a home and raise my children there, making new memories while doing so, but it seems so far away. I feel as if im in a transitory stage that no one enjoys, but acts as a right of passage onto a better life. Everyone I talk to that lives on their own now and is paying their own bills, is stressed all the time. All I can do now is just hope I don’t end up like one of them.

So as I myself am moving on in my life and looking at many changes happening in the next few months, I hope I can find something of stability in other parts of my life. Its not the end of the world, but I will truly miss the time spent in my childhood home and all the memories I spent there. It saw the life and death of two of my dogs, the raising of four of us from children into adults and hosted countless other memories I will never forget. There will always be a place in my heart for my house and the hometown I was raised in, even with all the flaws they had. I raise a glass to my house, the old memories that occurred there and can only hope that the new owner may feel the same way about this pile of bricks as I do.

  • Calaber24p
Sort:  

After my father retired from the Army we lived in this little house in rural NY surrounded by cow pastures and apple orchards. When it was time to move we all cried. The house was simply too small for us and too far for my father to commute. I'll never forget that heartbreaking day. There are so many good memories there. I often wonder if the new owners had found all the stuff my siblings and I had put in the attic as a time capsule. :)

You know there is life energy in them thar family homes... all the best.

I was a military brat - we never lived in one place too long. I always wanted that one static place to call home. Your memories will feed your life.

I was an Army brat. I know that feeling.

Learning to let go is a tough job, yet greatly valuable learning, as in learning to die one learns to live. Namaste :)

I am convinced a piece of us remains behind in the houses we live in. I returned to the house where my children where born, and although vacant, I felt like the house "remembered" me. I can't explain it. It was a feeling. I'll always remember it. What a great post, @calaber24p.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $25.58 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 11 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63017.22
ETH 2457.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61