Can Beneficial Emotions, Like Compassion And Empathy, Hurt Us In Our Modern Day Society?

in #life8 years ago

Can Beneficial Emotions Like Compassion And Empathy Hurt Us In Our Modern Day Society?

Being human, means most of us have emotions we often are unable to control, usually they are ones that most people think are good to avoid like, anxiety, anger, hatred, however, sometimes in the world it is the good emotions like compassion that can hurt us. Im not really sure where my aptitude for compassion and kindness came from, growing up we were taught to live that way, but my other three siblings don’t seem to feel the same way as me on certain topics. Many people would say that having these emotions are a benefit to society, but at the same time they can hurt you in various situations.

Despite what many millennials believe, being a man in society today is tough. We are expendable, often no one offers a hand when we fall, and we have almost no emotional support. Our relationships with other men most of the time does not extend to very deep emotional one and many guys only have one or two good friends they can talk to about their emotions. Even friends I have had since I was a child I can only share so much with before I cross a line.

Our society has taught males to hide emotions and be tough rather than compassionate. Those that are too compassionate during school years can be labeled as weak and become targets. Despite all of us having emotional needs to attend to, we push them down and suffer internally because its not okay for us to share them. This is why many times I had a hard time fitting in with other groups of guys in high school. I played basketball, but I was never really friends with the people I played with. They would joke around and insult each other, or get in each other’s faces to establish dominance, but this was never my personality. I could put on a face and play the game, but it always felt weird. I was always friendly and outgoing so there were times where I had friends who went into more popular social circles, but I always stayed where I was with my small group of unpopular friends because they weren’t like other guys and I could actually talk to them.

However, compassion and empathy has hurt me the most in the way that I see the world. I can pretend to put myself in another’s shoes and even people who have committed monstrous crimes I can feel bad for. I understand why people like gang members who murder commit the crimes they do. I watch documentaries where people who have killed 10 people talk about how they saw a gang as the only way out of the poverty stricken lives they were living, and I start to feel bad for them. They are cold blooded killers with most likely no conscious themselves, but I still feel sorry that they had to live a life that I don’t think anyone would really choose if given the choice. I usually keep these feelings to myself because if I were to come out and say that I feel bad for these criminals, people would look at me like I was crazy.

As someone who is going to either be entering some sort of business field after graduation, I know most likely I am going to have to put a face on for work every day because emotions will get you trampled on. Because we live in societies where psychopaths hold managerial positions, you are often asked to perform tasks that aren’t technically illegal but morally bankrupt, for example targeting old people to invest in certain products that will make my employer the most amount in fees, even if they could get a better return elsewhere. Our workforce is where I am most scared about having my compassion work against me, especially in an area like New York City, where people are extremely cutthroat. I don’t want to become labeled weak by my employer, but I also don’t want to exploit people, however, if I choose the latter option I won’t have a job and be able to support myself.

We are constantly making the choice between what is morally right and what is the most beneficial action for ourselves to take and im sure many like me can get caught in the crossfire. I want to be a more compassionate person, with kindness and empathy, but if we want to aspire to what our society defines as “successful” , we have to abandon those thoughts. Im interested to hear about experiences some of you have had, or just what you feel about my take in general. I haven’t experienced the world as much as many of you, so if you have any advice, definitely give it.

-Calaber24p

Sort:  

If you are at the point where you consciously recognize all those negative things you expect to happen at work you should consider a different path. You already know what's going to happen and you already don't like it so why follow through? Emotions are all negative and are necessary sometimes to recognize and move on. Compassion and kindness are feelings. You should feel compassion for others simply for that fact that they don't love themselves for x amount of traumas and negative variables throughout their life. Learn how to love yourself, feel compassion for others, enjoy your life, and extend help to those that are open to it. I hope that helps, take care :)

This^^ I was basically going to say this.

Why try and fit into the mould of society? Why not create your own mould ? Fuck society :)

Exactly! mah dood!

I agree, but sadly investing is something I love, maybe I will start my own business one day, but from what I hear in that field from my friends is compassion is sometimes best left at the door.

There are plenty of businesses that require compassionate people. You could set up your own "help the [whatever section of society you want to help]" charity and run it from there. And contrary to popular opinion there are loads of funding grants you can apply for that are just ripe for picking.

But like all things in life moderation is the key - so if you plan to heal the world with your awesome compassion then you'll need strong barriers with a healthy dose of "fuck you" to protect yourself. Because you, my friend, are number 1. And you can't be helping people if you haven't got your shit together :)

Pro tip: You'll never get anywhere in life if you don't learn to stick up for yourself, because people will take advantage and walk all over you, I know this through hardened experience. In fact, I can feel a post coming on lol

p.s. Thank you, I'll mention you in my post :)

I think everyone could use a bit more empathy towards each other, the world would be a better place if there was more care and consideration out there

I absolutely agree. It seems like compassion is something society is sorely lacking these days. It amazes me how uncaring some people can be. I don't think being compassionate has ever held me back. It has definitely cost me money....a house full of rescue cats, sponsoring underprivileged kids, donating money to online charity campaigns, giving cash to homeless people on the streets, etc.

But, it's never held me back from MAKING money, too. Then again, I don't work for corporate America. I've never had an interest in it. Before I began working for myself, I was a teacher, a counselor for troubled youth, a supervisor at a children's museum, and a background investigator (which just involved interviewing people, gathering records, and writing reports).

Bring back compassion, I say.

We are definitely lacking compassion, but that is one of the side effects of our capitalist culture. Many people see those who crushed under the moving wheel as weak and people who didnt work hard enough, when many times they couldnt be more wrong.

Cal24, Maybe you could look at educating yourself in areas of which are 'Caring' industries, whether caring for people or the planet, that might be a more appropriate choice for you than the bankster investment racket. Nursing, teaching, forestry, organic farming, community building, etc. are all possibilities that benefit from empathetic and caring participants without making you 'morally bankrupt'. You may not get rich, although you might if you are a creative producing genius and focus on positive solutions that are productive, popular and uniquely giving, but at the end of the day wealth after a certain point, brings no more happiness or satisfaction just more headaches, stress and chaos..... just my pov. love the post! oc

The thing is I love investing and money, it was what I was always meant to do. Im thinking of becoming a fiduciary which means I would have to act in the best interest of my clients. My dream is I could eventually live modestly with my own business working for myself, but that is a far off dream at this point.

That compassion and empathy you possess just shows your depth of character. It is truly the only way to understand what others, some less fortunate have had to deal with -- instead of just labeling them and writing them off. It is, harder for a man to show and express these feelings in today's societies, especially as a young man -- being afraid of being labeled a wimp or something like that... I myself, am not one, who gives a shit what society thinks I should be... I see your concern about your future and your chosen career.., but I think not being who you truly are will only hurt you in the long run.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86