Buying High End Clothing for Cheap and the One Piece of Clothing I Splurge On

in #life7 years ago

Like many people out there, when I buy clothes I try to buy things that are fashionable and at the cheapest price. This usually means that ill shop at places like Marshalls or TJ Maxx , which if you don’t know are basically stores that will buy up high end brands when they go out of season in stores like Macys and sell them to you at a discount. The thing is though , this includes jeans, button down shirts and other things that never really go out of season because I could always roll up the sleeves and I wear Jeans all year round.

Sometimes I admit the clothes don’t fit perfectly, but that is mostly because of me. Unfortunately I have a very hard time finding clothing because of my height. I am about 6 foot 4 and relatively thin, so finding clothes that are long enough for me and ones that I like is very hard. I will usually have to shop around and if im lucky get one dress shirt that has good proportions. The problem is most stores if they are selling an XL are aimed towards someone who is heavier rather than taller so they don’t really fit me. But at the same time larges aren’t long enough.

I have found that many times the places that I mentioned before, because they are stores that buy up extra inventory, actually have tall sizes that I desire. I could go to a big and tall store, but usually their clothes aren’t very fashionable and I am usually too short for the tall section. Im in that awkward middle section that finds it really rough to find a good fitting piece of clothing. I always said that if I was really rich I would open a store called something like “Clothes for the slightly taller man, but not too tall” to cater to people my size, who I know have many of the same issues as me.

In terms of suits and dress clothing, I actually had a few custom shirts for my birthday made. I always wanted to see how they would fit and I figured they were business shirts and I could wear them many times so the value would be worth it. Theres actually a pretty nice place called indochino, you can visit their website and check them out. I think I got 3 shirts for $250, which were completely custom fit and fit perfectly. I had never felt like a piece of clothing had fit so well in my entire life. So now when I go on job interviews or need to wear a suit, it looks good on me. Definitely one of the purchases for the price that I don’t reget.

So what is the one piece of clothing that I splurge on? Well if you said underwear, you guessed right! For some reason I feel like a good pair of underwear can make your whole day better. For most of my life I wore regular boxers, but a few years ago transitioned to boxer briefs and never looked back. They just feel more comfortable to me, which is the whole point of underwear. I had just basic hanes pairs , but recently I had been hearing so many youtubers advertise with Meundies.com that I went ahead and tried a pair. They were pretty expensive in my opinion for underwear , but they have been by far one of the best purchases I have made in my life. Every day my junk feels like it is on a cloud. Im not paid to shill for them or anything, but I actually like their product. Let me know if you have any pairs from them and what you thought.

Sort:  

Good post. Everyone likes a bargain!

Quick question: Dont the clothes that usually end up going to stores like TJMaxx or Nordstrom Rack usually have something wrong with them ie a loose button, faulty zipper, etc. Maybe I heard incorrectly...?

not usually. occassionally, but its discounted then. its mostly stuff out of season

Wish we had TJMaxx in Mexico

great...your post deserve upvote and resteem...

I resteeming your post :)

I've been hearing about MeUndies everywhere these days... their strategy of advertising on every podcast ever is working.

I want one, but they're so expensive! You think it's worth it? Would you buy another pair?

Yeah I know they are expensive, which is why I started off with one pair, but I honestly really like them. I dont go for any crazy designs or anything and I bought them in a 10 pack, but I dont even like going back to my old underwear anymore if I dont have a clean pair available. I ended up buying 20 pairs so I wouldnt need to X) I went overboard, but try a pair, I think if you dont like them you can send them back free. I thought it was a gimmick and I definitely got suckered in by their advertising.

The problem I have is with shoes ... I am a size 11 and in MALAYSIA .. most shops with nice designs only have tiny shoes size 5-9 . Frustrating indeed.

Im with you, I dont know how id survive there. Im size 14 in the US and even here it can be a pain to buy shoes. We have a store in the US called DSW which is also high end discount shoes and they usually have nice shoes for me. I think your best bet would be buying them online it seems like :(

Hi, we are a new up and coming men's clothing and accessories website, give us a follow!

As a fashion reporter, I like really clothes probably more than most. But I also know all the troubling facts represented by those cheap t-shirts and jeans. For more than a year now, I’ve set myself a simple goal for every clothing purchase. It’s an entirely personal choice that I feel helps me buy less and enjoy my purchases more. My hope is that it also reduces how much I contribute to some of those issues mentioned above.

Donde esta el remate, ganga ,bueno,bonito y barato estamos nosotros!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45