Do the Crystal Deodorants Really Work?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Alzheimer's Disease runs in my family so when I seen that there was aluminum and other oxides in regular deodorants I knew I had to start looking around for something different.

Even though there's no hard link between aluminum and Alzheimer's I just don't want to take the chance.

The aluminum that's present in some deodorants is of the oxide type because it is able to form a type of plug for the skin's pores and stops the sweat from making it out to the surface of the skin. Even if we were to totally discount the Alzheimer risk I don't believe that stopping the bodies natural processes (like sweating) are very healthy - these help the body rid itself of toxins and help keep the body's largest organ healthy.

When I found the crystal deodorant I thought I'd give it a try. The crystal deodorant works a little differently that the regular deodorants on the market because it doesn't stop your body from sweating. Sweat by itself is actually quite odorless and the smell is actually caused by a bacteria that grows in these nice warm and damp places of the body. The crystal works by making the area of the body where it's applied a more hostile environment for that type of bacteria.

Simply put - the crystal deodorant is a type of salt and it makes it too salty for the bacteria to grow.

The crystal is applied by dampening it and then rubbing it on the area where you want to apply it. I basically just unscrew the top, pass it under running tap water and then rub it under my arms. It's a bit strange at first but it all becomes routine really quickly.

IMG_20170730_111753.jpg

So how does it work?

I've been using crystal deodorants for over ten years and it is the only deodorant that I think actually works and does what it's supposed to do. It's even noticeable to me if I don't wear it - I can smell that sweat on my clothes if I don't wear it and I can't smell the sweat if I do.

So I'd say 100% that it works!

The crystal deodorant doesn't stop you from sweating - so you might see dampness on your clothes.

So what are the drawbacks?

Right from day one I hated the packaging - it reminds me of first generation injection molded plastics. It's that creaky brittle kind of plastic and every brand of crystal deodorant I've seen uses this type of packaging. The first time you drop it - it's done. The crystal deodorant is done, the plastic is done and you basically just have to get a new one because yours is spread out in little pieces all over the floor.

I'm thinking that the packaging is something they need to sell more of the product. The product lasts forever. It takes so long to use up one of these crystal deodorant sticks that you might just go out and buy a new one because you've looked at the last one you bought for the last two years and it still has a lot of life in it. So when you drop yours you basically have to go out and buy a new one - which might not have happened for another two years if you hadn't dropped it! They really do last a long time - even with every day use.

IMG_20170730_111809.jpg

Other than the packaging issue I can't think of any other drawbacks.

If you have any concerns about Alzheimer's or just want to try a healthier alternative I'd really suggest the deodorant crystal.

PLEASE UP-VOTE and COMMENT or even RESTEEM!

Sort:  

The aluminum concern sounded far fetched, so I did a quick google search and it frequently comes up as myth attributed to conjecture from the 1970s - http://www.alz.org/alzheimers_disease_myths_about_alzheimers.asp.

also this sites talks about it as well - http://www.teenvogue.com/story/deodorant-aluminum-safety-what-you-should-know

That said, it can't hurt to seek out more minimalist natural hygiene products. Frankly they can often just perform better let alone be healthier and cheaper.

Yeah - The concern has been around for quite some time but no link has ever been proven. I've seen truckers with aluminum gear shifting knobs in their trucks suffer from cracked skin on their hands where they're touching the aluminum all day. I personally don't think any metals or their oxides in excessive amounts are good for the body so natural products are sometimes good to seek out.

Hey Great post! I have another alternative that you might be interested in - Bi-Carbonate of Soda. Yes thats right baking soda! It kills smells in seconds and is great as toothpaste, antacid and kills thrush dead...its an amazing thing to be honest. It even seems to make my wrinkles go away to some extent. I now wash with it because I have allergic reactions to normal soaps and shampoos. So for antacid I use one teaspoon in a half pint of water. I was suprised how quick this works. I don't measure how much I wash with, I just use as neccesary. Baking soda tends to come with preservatives so be sure to get just Bi-Carbonate of soda also known as Sodium Bi-Carbonate.

Thank you. I use Baking Soda as toothpaste! Well, actually I sprinkle it on top of regular toothpaste. But it's great!

Baking Soda works great too! It' so important that people get away from the toxins present in off the shelf deodorant no matter what option they go with. That's why we built Storm & Leif All Natural Deodorants. We wanted to give people a great, healthy experience that they could feel safe using.

Congratulations @cactii! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Steemitboard you are a leech.... Why don't you up-vote the posts that you post on? TAKE TAKE TAKE and give sweet bugger all.

Congratulations @cactii! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57847.79
ETH 2291.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46