How The Poor Stay Poor

in #life6 years ago (edited)

So I live in America and at times people complain about the top 1% of people in this country. Now the problem with this is that they whine about they make too much money without understanding what it took to get to that position.

Source

What I usually see over and over is that people waste their money. They waste it on video games, tv, movies, cars, clothes, gadgets, well you get the point. They hardly ever invest their money into anything that will make them more money. They just see rich people do things they want to do and they want to have it too. When you really think about it, it's like a kid seeing another kid with a toy and now all of a sudden they want it too.

When you live in a country where there is an abundance of literally everything including opportunities, people start to lose sight of what is really important. They start to place importance on unimportant things and take for granted the everyday necessities. When that happens, it creates a recipe for financial destruction.

Take for example a guy that always wanted the big house and car. They get a job, get promoted after so many years, and then they think I can now afford it. What they are really saying is that I now get enough money every week to pay for this stuff. Instead of investing that money they go and spend what their paychecks can handle. And not only that, they go into debt to get the stuff just so it appears they are wealthy when in reality they are poor with a negative net worth. If they died today they would leave nothing but debt to their loved ones. I have seen it happen time after time.

Oh and I almost forgot about the complaining about the 1%. How about this for a stat, you complain about the top 1% but somebody making $30,000 yearly in America is in the top 1% in the world so be careful what you ask for.

Till next time Steemians, Steem On!!

Sort:  

The realness of this post is on point. I completely agree with you! There is there is this misunderstanding on what the term 1% means, its all relative. Most people think 1% means these super-rich people who are CEOs, have family wealth or are investors or superstars but its not the case.

Many of America's middle class are in fact one percenter and do not realise it, they squander their wealth on items that do not generate wealth and they're forced to work because they overextended to themselves when they could have lived comfortably but the desire for more material positions has put them into a cycle of debt.

I'm from South Africa and if I could earn even half of what the average middle-class salary in the US is, I would be living so comfortably and could travel and even retire early.

What we need is to educate people on how to better use their resources and not fall for the trap of mass consumerism, if we can do that we will have more people with enough wealth that can be put to good use like giving to charity and giving the next generation a better education and future and thought that will we reduce poverty.

Live below your means. Save half of what you make. Invest half of what you save.

Thats only if you have money left over after paying all the bills/insurance/rent

Sometimes, yes. But that doesn't mean it has to be permanent.

i know people in my life who earn a lot and spend more than they earn and are very entitled. Not going to lie man I waste a lot of money but I learned the value the hard way.

my car got towed one time cause I was being careless and I lost $405 just to get it back. I could've avoided it by parking somewhere else like a block or two away but I was being dumb. I also broke my playstation controller cause i got gamer's rage but man they cost about $40 to replace it and I bought a few.

from what I'm reading it sounds like when people get paid they first spend it on what they want and not should be paid (bills/insurance/etc.)

I dont got money to invest but I got time. hopefully in the future i got money and time to invest. hope this platform gives us a good overall return

Es muy cierto lo que dices. Hay que saber invertir para crecer. Muchas veces la gente está en el 1% y no lo sabe.

Loading...

Congratulations @byrondallen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27