Just When I Thought I Was Out….

in #life6 years ago (edited)

It is such a great line I couldn’t resist. Not that I consider myself to be any kind of Godfather figure but sometimes I do definitely feel like a criminal. I’m actually a good law abiding citizen and I pay my taxes (if I can’t minimise them to zero) but when it comes to Cryptos and some of the talk here of Revolution and defiance of Central Authorities it does at times seem a bit subversive. I half expect that one day I’ll get a knock on the door and be hauled off on charges of sedition, and that’s why I like to stay mostly Anonymous….but maybe I’m just being paranoid. I digress, the quote just fits and Silvio is my kind of character.

silvio.jpg
Source

I tried to take a break from STEEM and depending on how you look at it, I never really left or maybe I am not really coming back. I was posting daily for a while there and I had to stop that to take care of business….and it’s business that still hasn’t been taken care of. I’ve actually been sick for over a month now – first with a crippling case of Bronchitis and now I’ve been hit with Shingles. When I asked my Doctor where this Shingles came from he explained that as I had Chicken Pox when I was about 2, the virus stays in my system for life and can relapse if I get overly stressed, extremely tired or run down from another illness. Yep, you guessed it – I hit the Trifecta. So here I am loaded up on pain killers and unable to do anything particularly productive or cranial. But hey, I can still write a mindless, rambling post on STEEM and earn a few cents! So here I am today!

revenant.gif
Source

So what have I been doing these last couple months? Well, Cryptos have been getting hammered and while I’m now a fully converted Crypto Zealot dosed up on the Kool Aid, even blind Freddy can see that the easy money from straight up Crypto Investing that we enjoyed in 2017 is gone for now. So I decided to “Get my Dev back on” and re-tool for some actual blockchain development. There are a whole heap of ICOs that flushed projects with cash in 2017 and from what I’ve seen many are now going to struggle to actually deliver on their promises. Blockchain Engineers are likely to be in high demand as the Charlatans Marketing People take a back seat in 2018. Well that is my thinking anyway.

propellerhead.jpg
Source

The first goal I set myself was to get to the EOS Hackathon in Sydney in early August. I’d never been to a Hackathon before and my Dev toolset was not only out of date, but it was mostly proprietary technology in the Microsoft .NET sphere. So I got a new laptop and built myself a new “Open Source” Dev environment on Linux Mint, started looking into EOS Smart Contracts (written in C++ which is very similar to C# that I use) and NodeJS (which is basically just a next generation JavaScript library) and even some ReactJS. It’s a bit like riding an old bike and I’m coming up to speed on the new tools pretty quick. I’ve been surprised and impressed with how far the front end dev has come in recent years! Anyway, the whole EOS Hackathon experience is probably worthy of a post in its own right. It didn’t quite work out the way I had hoped, mostly because I got sick, but I also was surprised with the event itself. It was a lot more serious and competitive than I expected.…and a lot less focused on the actual Dev too.

hackathon.jpg

After I got home I’ve just been focusing on getting well and have been lurking around STEEM a bit making random comments with my iPad in bed. I’d seen that the STEEM DOLLAR finally dropped below $1 USD so I thought I should make a post about that since I’ve been banging on about the SBD situation for many months now. Anyway, after writing that post the always lovely and helpful @choogirl put me in contact with @scaredycatguide about doing a radio interview on the topic for his MSP Waves show Music and Money with ScaredyCatGuide. I originally baulked as I’ve never been a public speaking type, but the idea grew on me and I finally came around to a “Why the hell not” attitude and I’m really glad I did. He’s a really good host and it was good fun talking about a bunch of stuff that I’m really interested in and passionate about. I’ll post up the recording when it comes out for anyone who’s interested.

scaredycatguide.PNG
Source 1 2

So, while I’ve enjoyed the break from STEEM it’s been hard to stay away. On top of it all, the #SteemSilverGold community are doing another Monster Raffle this month which I am naturally drawn to like a moth to flame. I know I can’t sustain a daily post rate and full on engagement with my communities like I was trying to do before. I also know the STEEM platform has a few warts and some serious flaws that my inner investor baulks at, but there is just too much good stuff and good people here to totally walk away. Maybe I’ll just go back to being a fringe-dweller, lurking in the shadows for a while – but I am here and I’ll probably pop up with a post here and there when you least expect it.


Images and Credits
https://www.pinterest.com.au
https://imgur.com
https://www.fasttech.com
https://steemit.com/@scaredycatguide
https://steemit.com/@msp-waves

teamaustralia_buggedout.png

steemsilvergold_buggedout.png

Sort:  

Yo brother, happy to see you “back” posting whatever that means... just do you Buggs, get better and follow your bliss!

😎👍👍

Thanks mate. I think you might be my Spirit Guide :)

✨🤘🤩✨

It's Good to have Friends like @fuzzyvest..................

I am quite sure he has no idea who I am. Have you heard of Whaleshares

@buggedout I have heard of it but I do not know any of the details unless I read up on it......

Welcome back or partly back, or never really left back, anyways, good to see your post again. Have your tried rubbing a nice siver bar on those shingles, might work. Good to see you brother.

Thanks @raybrockman at this stage I'd be ready to try anything :)

Shit! I didn't realise you'd be sick for that long. Or that you had shingles. No bueno!

Well done on the radio interview today. You were great and I hope more people get a chance to listen to it when the Cat uploads it.

Thanks. I do appreciate you hooking me up with an idea that would never have crossed my mind as being likely, or even possible.

You are a catalyst for good things @choogirl

You're welcome. Steemit is like that. It encourages you to do things and meet people you'd never considered in your pre-steemit life.

👀 Hi lurker! 😄

It’s nice to see you creeping about. I read that whole first 3/4 of your post (not understanding a word) and thought to myself... oh he’s back for the raffle. And there it was at the end! 😄

I am sorry you are feeling shite, but how nice that it gives you some time to pop in for a visit.

Feel better soon!
🇦🇺 💛💚 Go Team! 😉

Haha. That might be the drugs I am on. Normal filter is not working so I apologise if my post doesn't make a lot of sense.

The Monster Raffle is one thing that I just can't miss though. That collage of metal pics ssuk put together is the most beautiful thing I've seen in a while. You must know me too well :)

No you made total sense I am sure for computer people. I don’t get computer lingo or crypto! Lol WHY AM I HERE?!!! Just like having a bit of a chat probably. 😂

It did make total sense, best regards from a representative of the computer people.

Great interview, mate.
Rest up. Spring is just around the corner.

Thanks. I really do love Spring. So many good things happen :)

Mate I'm not sure whether you can ever be 'out' when it comes to crypto! Good to see you lurking about. Getter well soon buddy!

Very true. Once you get Crypto in the blood it's in your system for life too :)

Get better man, glad to see you working on eos and I'm new to whaleshares and think I had to have tokens to join early so I'm waiting to get accepted. Looks like it is more for teckies like you!

Hit me up on Discord and I'll share what I know. I thought all you needed was a Bitshares account.

Welcome back oldpart-timer ;) Sounds like you're going through the wringer a bit. Get well soon mate! Good to see you still popping in from time to time.

Thanks mate. Life is full of ups and downs. Hopefully on the bounce back now though :)

Sounds like crypto!

Great read, I hope to see another post soon you will get rid of these painkillers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97