Finding Zen on the Lake

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This is my happy place. Ever since I met my future wife and she dragged me along to her annual family holiday I have been in love with this Lake. It’s been a bit of a sanctuary and a welcome respite for a lot of years now as my regular life can seem like a bit of a rollercoaster sometimes. The serenity of this place seems able to consistently hit the “Reset” button for me each year. This morning I meditated with this outlook on a perfect late summer day…and I just hit that button.

lake.jpg

I always take this time by the lake to reflect on the year that’s been and ask myself some of those big existential questions, the answers to which have frequently changed the course of my life….and I’ve had a few changes. Sometimes I take a notepad and just do a bit of a brain dump. I explore my ideas and express my creativity, without knowing where it will lead. Last year I had determined that my priority was going to be the birth of our 2nd child (and it has been), but I had also noted it was time to look back into this Crypto thing and find out what this new Ethereum was all about. I had no idea this idea would lead me on one of the wildest rides of my life yet!

snoopy.jpg
Source

It gets harder with kids and thankfully my tireless wife has taken the kids to the beach so that I can have the morning to reconnect with the Lake. I know it sounds wishy-washy and I’m not really a new age religious or spiritual type. Sometimes we don’t really need to understand what works, we only need to understand that it does. Maybe later we will cruise out on the father in-laws boat for a fish or maybe we’ll have a fire and sit around telling stories. My mother in-law has been coming to this place for over 50 years so there are more than enough stories. It’s a very long family tradition, and I can respect that.

boat.jpg

It’s one of the reasons I started writing about my Sports Betting again. I don’t think there is much audience for it here yet on STEEM but it was here at the Lake years ago where I first had the idea and then was inspired to toss in my 9 to 5 job years later to give it a real crack. Breaking from the mainstream was the best thing I have ever done. I took the Red Pill by this Lake and never looked back. Only just the other day I found out there is Alluvial Gold running under the Lake and that just makes me smile considering how much of a Gold Bug I’ve become.

redpill.jpg
Source

So this year I’ve really needed the break. I have been exhausted trying to keep up with all my Side Hustles and Crypto has totally blown my mind this year. When you are juggling so many balls in the air it’s inevitable that you’ll drop one or two, but I really wanted to keep up my writing. It’s an expression of my creative side that I haven’t always been able to do. So today I know I am kind of rambling, but it feels therapeutic and if you’re still reading this I’d like to thank you for embellishing me.

Do you have a Happy Place? Where is it?


TeamAust_buggedout.png

Images and Credits
https://acupofruit.wordpress.com
http://www.humanisme.dk

Sort:  

Are you at Bonny Doon? How's the serenity?

In all seriousness though, enjoy your break.

Screenshot_20180224-181517.jpg

Sorry I couldnt resist - have a great time and enjoy your zen.

LOL. It is a bit like Bonny Doon but there's no powerlines and we didn't bring the bug zapper :)

I should really have put a photo from the Castle in there shouldn't I.

It probably wouldn't hurt.

Lol!

You explore your ideas and express by creativity, without knowing where it will lead.

I am drawn to water like it sounds like you are. I live only a few blocks from an inlet on the ocean and go there as often as I can, even in the middle of winter. Because nowhere else in the world makes me happier. I take a journal and write whatever comes to mind. This practice has helped me many times over the years to figure out answers to my most pressing questions. Sitting quietly by myself near the water is peaceful and calming, especially on days when life is chaotic. And I enjoyed the part about how your mother-in-law has been attending the lake for so long, family traditions are so very important. We have a family reunion each year at a lake near where I grew up and it is a wonderful tradition that we have. Thanks so much for sharing and enjoy your break with your family!- Ivy

Thanks. It sounds like we have a lot of in common with traditions and how we figure the hard stuff out :)

My "Happy Place" is in the garden, any slightly overgrown garden thats buzzing with insects and signs of life. I cant say it relaxes me and makes me contemplate life quite like your lake, but it makes me stand there in sheer amazement and complete appreciation for things I cannot even begin to understand. Nature is the ticket!! :-)

Nice @buggedout. I don't think you sound wishy-washy or new age at all.

Having some quiet outdoor time is so important to keep a bit of balance. Especially when the pace of life gets so crazy.

It's nice to have places where you can go to relax and unwind a bit. I like getting out in nature. Doesn't really matter where it is, just nature. I need to get out there again. Skiing was one of my favorite ways of working off energy and getting centered, but I haven't been able to go for a while. I recommend it if you have never been.

Yes, I have my happy place. It is in a small town near to where I live. I used to spend my vacations there when my children were young. Simple and calm place. When my head is full of problems I simply drive and go to a small park there. Sit a few minutes under a tree and slowly the problems seem to disappear... Better than psychotherapy ...

i love starting open water going out tree planting has made me love it just sitting there by youself enjoying the beauty

Looks like a great spot. Enjoy your happy place 🖖🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62685.52
ETH 2436.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51