Personal Growth and Having a Positive Mindset 📖

in #life6 years ago (edited)

My Post (7).jpg

Hey Guys, so I have been going through a lot of personal growth the last few months and have had a lot of ups and downs. There have been days I have lost hope and wasn't sure which way my life was headed. Quarter life crisis so to speak. I lost my job on my birthday, I was in the worst shape of my life, nothing in my life was the way I wanted it to be. I had been so busy waiting for life to happen to me that time just passed by. Waiting to feel like it, waiting for it to smack me in the face. The truth is that...nothing is coming. No one is going to make your dream life, you have to take consistant action to make it happen. So I had to get real with myself and ask....WHAT DO I REALLY WANT!?

Do I want to let another year slip by hoping to be 30kgs lighter but taking no action to make that happen? Nope. Every year it was the same thing like "this is my year to....blah blah blah" same old shit.

Do I want to be lonely because of how uncomforable I am at my current weight to meet anyone? Nope. Every year doing the same old diets and binge eating, pretending im not lonely and single life is the best.

Do I want to be working in a entry level job making minimum wage for the rest of my life? Nope. Every year too scared to make the wrong move and end up in debt regretting it. Instead making no move at all and being stuck in the same retail job 10 years later. But hey its safe right?

Do I want to be scared to go try social events alone? Nope. Every year saying I want to learn to blah blah blah. But letting fear, doubt and judgements hold me back.

I had to get real with myself and where I was at. It opened up all sort of emotions. I am far from out of the woods but now I have a little more clarity as to how I want my life to be. I still need to reaffirm daily to myself that my future is greater than todays temptations. Do I ever feel like going for a walk? most days not but I get up and do it. Do i ever feel like eating protein and veges over fastfood? most times not but i try to fuel up what my body needs not with what my mind wants.

YOUR MINDSET IS EVERYTHING

Every single day I have to reinforce what I want. You don't have to know exactly how to get there. I certainly dont. But as long as you have the belief that there is a different future for you and you reaffirm that every day. It will happen for you. No that doesn't mean you can think I'm going to have 1 million dollars in my account tommorow and it will be there. It means by setting your focus DAILY your brain will always be open to opportunities that help move you towards that goal.

Now the main point of this article I want to share with you is 5 motivational speakers I listen to, to help keep a clear direction on where I'm headed and maintain a strong positive mindset even when life is not going my way.

OPRAH 3.jpg
OPRAH WINFREY
Oprah needs no introduction but only in the last few years I have discovered how influential she is on a soul searching level. Her work is perfect for having a "come-to-self" type of moment and really connect to why we are here on this planet. Finding your true purpose.

RIM JOHN.png
JIM ROHN
Jim offers great life lessons and is a delight to listen to. He covers aspects in all areas of life with a realistic approach.

LES BROWN.jpg
LES BROWN
Les gives us motivation with such passion. Through sharing his real life experiences I really feel connected when he talks.

TONY ROBBINS.jpg
TONY ROBBINS
Possibly one of the most well known inspiration speakers ever. Tony brings a realistic approach to changing all aspects of your life. He breaks down the reasoning behind why you're stuck in an area and how to move forward.

MEL ROBBINS.png
MEL ROBBINS
I love the no bullshit excuses attitude that Mel brings. She helps connect the dots and figure out what you really want.

Thanks so much for reading my ramblings. I didn't really have an idea when I started writing so it might not flow very well. I hope you have found some insight with my experiences and utilise the amazing people we have guiding us. With a strong mindset you can achieve greatness! I believe in you.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid " - Albert Einstein

Believe in yourself! Don't compare yourself to others.

Cheers -Beth

Sort:  

I love Mel Robbins along with others on this list! Great article, these folks and others are changing the world!

Yes it is good to believe in yourself!.... But sometimes it is okay to compare yourself to others,it helps to let you know how far you have gone with your life plans!

That is another good way to look at it! I think the best comparison is with yourself, who you were to who you are now. Also who you are now to who you would like to become.

Congratulations @bucketlistbeth! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60522.54
ETH 2602.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64