3 Ways to save BIG in college!

in #life7 years ago

Hey steemers!

As I have said plenty of times, I am a college student. And for those who don't know... It is a struggle! But I found some tips and tricks to getting the most out of your money. This doesn't have to just be for those in college either. It can be for people who live alone, have children in college, or just to save money.

So lets get started!

1.) Food

The thing that helps us survive! We could just be cheapskates and eat stale cafeteria food everyday in the dining hall, OR we can save big on foods! Things that have been taken for granted lately are COUPONS! Its like people my age forgot they exist. And they are extremely helpful! If you don't believe me, watch the tv show!

Also, remember to always watch out for the deals your store is having. For example, Kroger (or Fred Meyer). They are always having great deals to get more bang for your buck! Or you could shop at stores like Big Lots, or the various dollar stores. They may not be as fresh, but if that's the price you have to pay then so be it!

2.) Books

The silent killer! I found a great alternative.. Well a few, actually! First you can buy the book from alternative websites for a million times more cheaper! Yes, parents and fellow students, the school bookstore is playing you. They charge high prices for buying AND renting new and used books. And fortunately for me, I found most of them for cheaper online from Amazon, eBay, Barnes and Noble marketplace, MyACourse, and so much more.

Another alternative I found was finding downloadable PDF textbooks. And they are amazing. I could find some for free but others I had to pay a very low cost for. So I would have initially payed over $500 for my books, but since I used these alternatives I only paid roughly less than $150. That is a HUGE price gap!

3.) And lastly, saving on tuition!

If you didn't know, it is possible to save a lot of money on tuition just by simply taking more classes! Yeah, I am NOT talking about the college lottery... I mean scholarships; don't get me wrong, scholarships are important, but they are not the topic of this discussion. Anyways, this is only recommended if you know you can handle a somewhat heavy workload! I am saying this because the university, from what I know, will only charge you for 15 credit hours, which is about 5 classes per week! So, if you decide to take more you are saving money in the future because you wont have to take as many classes!

Smart right? When I learn more, I will keep all of you posted!

Thank you!
bs0404

Sort:  

Congratulations @bs0404! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received
You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51