Mental Stress is Making You Sick

in #life7 years ago (edited)

The Center for Disease Control of the United States estimates that mental stress related illnesses account for about 75% of all doctor visits. The National Council on Compensation of Insurance goes even higher with around a 90% rate. Needless to say what people are thinking is causing them to feel bad and even get physical problems.

Here are some typical illnesses related to mental stress: Headaches, back and neck pain, fibromyalgia, jaw pain (TMJ syndrome), foot pain, irritable bowl syndrome, tachycardia, stomach ulcers, digestive disturbances, skin rashes, insomnia, chronic fatigue, tinnitus, dizziness, anxiety, depression, etc.

Research regarding mental stress:

Cancer - research - Extreme suppression of anger was the most commonly identified characteristic of 160 breast cancer patients. Journal of Psychosomatic Research (Impact Factor: 3.3). 02/1977; 21(5):395-9. DOI:10.1016/0022-3999(77)90048-4

According to the neuroscientific journal Neurologija, “In the chronic muscle pain syndrome . . . the most likely cause of the pain is a combination of muscle tension and muscle hypoxia [low oxygen levels]. This conclusion is supported by the finding of a pathological distribution of tissue oxygen pressure in painful muscles. . . .”

In 1994, the Journal of Behavioral Medicine published the results of a study that found, "... inhibiting the expression of angry feelings was the strongest predictor of reports of pain intensity and pain behavior..."

Science validates that skin reactions can be caused by thought, summarized in this quote from an article in the journal Dermatologic Clinics: "There is clinical and experimental evidence that the brain can start, influence, and stop biologic skin events."

Bruce Lipton's Biology of Belief

The idea that cancer and other physical ailments are strictly due to genetic predispositions and not emotions is called into question by the writings of Bruce Lipton, Ph.D. What Dr. Lipton showed in his book The Biology of Belief, is that the mind of a cell is located in its membrane not the nucleus or DNA. Simply put, the membrane of a cell interacts with the external environment and then determines how the DNA inside the cell should behave thus determining how the cell replicates itself and the tissue it is creating. This directly connects thought with things like cancer.


Thanks for up-voting, following and re-steeming.

Sort:  

Thanks for this information ;)

A very real problem we as people will be facing in the years to come. Great article and kee up the good work Bruce.

This dip is making me go crazy 😂, help plz

I know, I know. I am one of these people. I keep thinking if I just hustle a bit longer I'm going to cross over into the world of financial independence and have enough passive income to stop working day jobs in an industry I'm tired of and which causes me constant stress. I'm only afraid I've left it too long and that the years of stress will already have taken too much toll on my mind and body that even when I can have a long recovery period my body won't be able to bounce back. But I'm trying to think positive.

I have these: headaches, back and neck pain, jaw pain (TMJ syndrome), foot pain (actually I think that's from having flat feet), digestive disturbances, insomnia, anxiety, depression, etc.

And sometimes my job is so stressful that I have the dry heaves every morning before I go to work.

It's reaching a crisis point, which is why I am looking into side hustles, additional rental properties, investments, cryptocurrency, etc.

I dream of living in a simple cottage by the sea and spending every morning walking up and down the beach barefoot, preferably with a dog or two. Eating fresh fish and fruit and vegetables direct from the garden. Then going to my studio and creating art and writing. And finally going for a swim and evening sail.

STOP! @clemdane
hey bro, I read your comment here and I want to tell you that you need to STOP!
you should only be putting your health at risk for financial gain if you want fancy things,
if you only want a cottog and live off the soil start now, or else you never will
you need to ask yourself why are you really working for that money?
to gain approval from family? yourself?
go and live the life you want now and work hard making that a reality
don't prepare prepare prepare so that one day, one day you'll have ALL the resoreces, the money, and the respect to go live the life you want,
you said you may have gone to far already
well think of it this way
if you keep going and going killing yourself for "someday"
you'll die before reaching it
or!
or worse
you'll get sick, have to spend all your dream money on your health bills and now you have that shitty job still, feeling like shit, and spending all your money just to keep you bearly alive so that you can keep going
Now that torture
please please
don't preapare
start now, you will never have it all perfect before you get that cottage
make your dream your problem, not some else who pays you to basically kill yourself

Thank you very much for writing so much and showing so much concern. Honestly, I'd love to drop everything this moment, but there are some practical reasons I can't. Instead, I have given myself 1 year. The main reason is I live in Manhattan and just renewed my lease and the other is my best friend and I are determined to start a business together and we are already working together (here in New York) on 3 side projects that we're going to incubate and see where they lead us. One last one is that I am looking to buy more rental property (I own two right now in Arizona) in the next few months so that I can move towards living off the income from those. This may be the last corporate job I work and it looks good on paper and pays well, so I need to take advantage of it for now to get the financing for my various projects. I need that credit for two other business ideas as well. So in that one year I need to get financing, get contracts signed, property into my LLC, etc.

I know that I can't do this very much longer so I am going to be focusing every effort from now on towards a transition plan. I also have a few more big commission checks on the way and will need that as capital, etc.

But believe me, I will not allow myself to go through this crap anymore by next year!

I really hope you start to understand yourself a bit more
you seem to want to live a simple life,
but I get the feeling you are scared to be unsatisfied
with having a little

try asking yourself some guiding questions
"if you got everything you wanted perfectly then, what would you do?"
"why do want what you want"
"what are some important values you don't want to break"
"who are you vs. who are you not?"

hopefully, you'll get a breakthrough from your inside
to help you accomplish what you really want on the outside,

keep in touch I want to see how it goes in a year

Yes, that makes sense. I guess right now what I really want is some breathing room. I just want to not have to worry about how I'm going to pay the bills and have free time during the day to ask myself all of these questions. What do I really want if I could do or have or be anything? I feel mentally overloaded. My worst fear is of being at the mercy of hostile others and not being able to help the people I care about.

Thanks for the starting points. I will use them.

Thank you for sharing! It's incredible important that we talk more about the problems and diseases coming through stress. Postponing our wellbeing for short moments of results i detrimental to our health. But there are very powerful ways you shift from a stressful state in to a coherent and healthy state.
By breathing and changing heart rhythm you can greatly affect the autonomic nervous system, brainfunction and allow the heart to produce more of the hormones balancing stress and cortisol. I am a trained heart math trainer and everyday I say amazing shifts happen in people when they start breathing in a healthy pattern. That alters everything. In my first post here on steem a describe a simple way of breathing that will greatly help when having stress. And with practice our normal unhealthy way of breathing/heart rhythm can start shift more and more over time from DISease to EASE and wellbeing! Feel free to write me or contact me if you want assistance or help. And look for more posts on the subject. My intention is your health and that you know how simple it really is to shift in to balance, without dangerous drugs and shit. YOur body already wants and knows how to heal you. You just need your focus, breathing and heart!
https://steemit.com/health/@linuslife/how-are-you-breathing-and-why-it-s-so-important

Excellent comment linuslife! Thank you for helping people. Up-voted and followed.

Thanks for this post! very usefull
Followed you!

Thanks for the support.

the stress is more comun in the adult people is necessary take care your mental health

facing this right now with some ongoing events withmy life , should i visit the doctor ? still contemplating

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42