25 years of living and I'm a failure?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I'm months away from the big quarter of a century... the big 25. I know that's still considered young - but I'm just like anyone at a certain age I'd expect myself to be more established and have my life more figured out. I remember when I was 12, 13, 14...

''When I'm 25 years old and an adult - I'll have money, my life figured all out, and everything will be perfect.''

But looking in hindsight - this was far from the case. I always waiting for something to happen.. and waiting is exactly that... waiting. Waiting for an opportunity, relying on something/someone to come and save me from my troubles; and guess what?

That day never came.

I spent five years in University for an arts degree that I don't use - because it made my parents happy, it made me not want to let anyone down, because it was the right thing to do because everyone else was doing it?

I spent five years in University with the same mentality - a structured path that led to me no where because I didn't have a definite path. Fast forward to convocation and getting that overpriced piece of paper - I finally decided to chase my passions - video and the love of film. (refer: https://steemit.com/life/@brokethehabit/what-i-ve-learned-from-following-your-dreams)

It's been one hell of a roller coaster - with constant up and downs but I'm glad to say I've learned a lot more about myself because I took action - and for all the other 24, 25, 26 year old's who haven't figured it all out yet - guess what? You're not alone because I'm still trying to too. Love the journey, have purpose, and work hard - but at the same time pull from the other side - live life - be happy to you're life and take it day by day. Something I'm still learning.

So here I am almost at 25 - failed in my dreams but still here - and that's one thing I can cross off - be a quarter of a century
but at the same time - time to figure it out - time to take action - and create purpose not find/nor wait.

If you could talk to your 25 year old self - past or future what would it be?

Sort:  

Many millions of people sit in the same boat as you. You realise your fault and therefore it is never too late. Be active on this platform and who knows, this might be a start...

When I was young - I looked up to people in their 20s because they seemed so cool and from the outside had it 'all' but I soon realized my peers, people I've been around - we're all still trying to create our own path and not follow one.

If I had that opportunity to talk to past 25 years old myself - I would say that everything will be OK. That I will find a profession that I will love, and my life will become more and more closer to the way I imagined it. And that I should start listen only to myself. The sooner - the better:)

My steemit friend, i think you hit the nail on the head. I am fast aproaching 50, and you have achieved something i never will... you went to school, and got a degree. Albiet a liberal arts degree, but a degree nonetheless. I wish someone had given you the advice about choosing your major wisely, and the pitfall of liberal arts degrees... they are a dime a dozen and thousands of other kids world wide are getting them. which allows businesses to pay shitty salaries to their employees because the supply of jobs are far fewer than the long list of resume's . However there is good news you are definitely young enough to still learn a trade, such as an electrician, plumber, carpenter etc... i say this because there is becoming a shortage of these type of skilled workers . kids aren't learning the trades. Which i find odd, because depending upon how far you go in a trade you can easily earn a 6 figure income. for instance, a journeyman electrician can easily earn 60-80k a year, it's roughly the same for other trades as well... the best part of this career choice is that there will always be a need for tradesmen(can't outsource these jobs).

     More importantly, as you grow older your idea of what constitutes as being successful will change.  It took me until i was about your age to realize that the adults in my life were somewhat right, and that many of the things they tried to teach me were true.  the one that hit home the most when i grew up, and actually became an adult(meaning i realized i didn't have a clue what life was all about) was the realization that the future i had envisioned as a teen, was wrong, and that my life was going to be totally different from that young kids ideas.  Hell, like i said...i'm damn near 50 and i still have no clue as to how my life will play out. Sure i have become better at saving for a future i would like, but things sometimes come along and set you back on those plans. So you just adjust your plans, or continue to work for those plans.  But above all, as you grow as a person, you realize that one of the best goals you should have in this life........is to be happy.  I let go of the stress years ago, of trying to chase money, of trying to make others happy, of fear of dissppointing my parents or others... I came to the realizeation that this life is short...very short. to make things worse, none of us know exactly how long or short it may be... so i decided i was going to be happy.  now i mean completely happy. regardless of my situation, be it i live under an overpass in a box, or i live in the grandest mansion one can afford... I will be happy.  That my friend is the best advice i can give you... no matter what this life beholds for you... BE HAPPY !!! life will be far more enjoyable...

What this guy said is actually true. You can outsource engineers and HR but you can't outsource someone who's going to fix your kitchen sink. The problem is also that people with engineering degrees are taking up trade skills as well. Maybe not to the extend of a pro electrician but plumbing and construction is common.

LOL... the trades have always had engineers in the trade fields.. they're called electrical engineers, archetectual engineers, structural engineers, Design engineers.. some of those can earn a 7 figure income depending upon the job they are involved with.

Agreed to an extent! I definitely follow Mike Rowe from Dirty Jobs and his philosophy of NOT following your dreams.

i don;t necessarily disagree, but in reading the OP i read that he attended college because it was expected....not necessarily what he wanted to do with his life...same with the choice of degree, unless i am mistaken and didn't comprehend it correctly..

im months away from 25 and I have not been much difference since before. Spent a lot of time in front of pc, go to a ok job and do some social. I realize what i have missed in the life and decide to change. Now actively looking for better job opportunity and banking on crypt trading and holding(LOVE IT). Good luck to you and I hope we can both succeed in life. STEEM ON.

Not everyone have prefect life, time will come when you get tired of waiting and things will happen. (I am in the same boat)

Good luck, dude, and welcome to the grind.

If there were one thing I tell my 25 years old self, it would be to be more laid back and open minded. There were a lot of opportunities I missed because I always thought that I was right. Also to be more fearless and fuck whatever people thought of me. I should only be focusing my time and effort on people that matter.

Welcome to the platform. There are things that are really out of hand but for some reason, everything happens for a reason and has its purpose.

Hey there,
As someone who just turned 25 herself, I can say I have/still feel how you feel. Our generation (the millennials) are held to some pretty high and almost impossible standards. I think our generation is filled with brilliant and creative minds, like yourself. I might not have any answers you're looking for but I am on a similar journey and I loved reading your post. Keep doing what you're doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59248.66
ETH 2601.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43