You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thank God I'm Not a Dentist! 🙌

in #life7 years ago (edited)

My Dad told me for the longest time that the best job to land was being a dentist. He was looking at it from a solely financial aspect which can make for some very unhappy people. Luckily I didn't take his advice nor follow in his footsteps (he's an accountant).

I'm very much a supporter of working a career that you absolutely love whether it makes good money or not. There's a saying that goes something like "if you love what you do, you'll never work a day in your life".

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing, @britt.the.ish! It's incredible to me how much pressure families put on children to choose certain careers...but children see that their parents are unhappy or unsatisfied, so why would they want to take their advice??

I'm thankful that my own parents didn't really pressure me to be this or that, and have supported my choices for my life in the best ways they know how. I still gave into pressure from my extended "family", but thank heavens I got sick of settling for a less-than-stellar life and started following my inner guidance!

Life is way too short to waste on things you don't love. 💛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57940.42
ETH 2359.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36