Sorry, YouTube, as a parent I'm not cool with the "Kids React to" series...

in #life6 years ago

When I first saw the "Kids React to" series on YouTube, I watched the delightful responses of children listening to the music of the Beatles. Most of them knew and loved the songs of the Fab Four and they bobbed their heads in appreciation of their parents' favorite music. Then, I watched some of the other "Kids React to" videos and quickly became concerned and disgusted.
Besides delving into music with "adult" lyrics, the series also asks children to react to gay couples, Hitler and the holocaust, etc. Maybe I'm "old-school" and a prude, but I don't think it's appropriate to expose kids to the words of "Californication" or evil beyond a child's comprehension--some things can and should wait.
Between the Mockingbird Media and education, children are indoctrinated enough with nonsense and lies and I realize that kids routinely hear far more explicit lyrics than the Chili Peppers--but that doesn't mean that we need to add sexuality to the indoctrination of their early years. (The musical videos almost seem like a back-door way to discuss "mature" subjects.)
I also realize that "Kids React to" doesn't rise to the depravity of YouTube's "Elsagate," which YouTube removed only after public outcry and the hard work of investigators like Melissa "Honeybee" Zaccaria. Still, I'd like to hear your and the Honeybee's impression of "Kids React to..." It strikes me as borderline-creepy and age-inappropriate. What do you think?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62274.69
ETH 3366.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43