From an empty factory to a beautiful wonderland all on a thrifty budget

in #life7 years ago (edited)

For the past four years I have been transforming the interior of a large industrial shed into a wonderland. I never set out with a particular theme or vision for the space. In fact, I started out with just a few rooms and a few tubs of product. It has grown organically into this gorgeous feminine enchanted world. I commenced on a super tight shoe string budget and with a little thrifty innovation the shop developed slowly. 

Originally it was going to be an outlet store for my own designs but over time it took on a life of it's own, evolving with the community. After a few years, I expanded into the adjacent shed, with a total floor area now of over 300 square metres. I stock work from around 80 local artisans, source colourful and intriguing vintage pieces and collect all manner of crafty materials.  

It is hard to explain but I really feel like my shop and all the community spaces contained within are now their own soulful bursting creative force. 

This is really a photo series to illustrate the beauty of slow growth.

I want to encourage those of you out there pursuing a dream with very little capital behind you, that it is possible to create something awesome. Time has been a blessing. My original idea for the shop (and two page business plan for that matter) is vastly different to the space I have today. 

Behind these photos is: 

  • Hard work
  • Persistence
  • Patience
  • Generosity
  • A solid family support system
  • Stubbornness
  • Hope
  • Years
  • Resourcefulness
  • Late nights and early mornings
  • Flexibility and adaptation
  • Community
  • Love and Joy

Being deeply involved in the journey of so many people looking to create a living from their creativity, I have learnt so much. I love to share my story in the hope that it will inspire others to be bold and create no matter what you are starting off with. 


Until next time, 

xx Isabella




Sort:  

What a wonderful thing you've created. I hope I can come visit and see for myself one day soon.

Thank you @stephen-somers for your on-going support of what I do. I really do appreciate it.

Wow, I just bow down to your creativity sir, looks amazing , Hope this inspires more bold people in this community .

Thank you @khatisam4. I firmly believe that all of us are filled with creativity and ideas and are capable of being amazing.

your sense of chioce and creattivity is very outstanding... and to achieve all this with a thrifty budget? wow you are genius... I will really love to tap from your wisdom. Congrats on your achievements.

Aw thank you @cutedicta. For the first few years of opening I regularly visited the rubbish tip recycle shops, op-shops and garage sales. I was on a mission for bargains to fit out the shop. It is funny how when you start looking at what is around on offer and how you could use it (as opposed to going shopping with a particular piece in mind) all sort of furniture and fittings leap out at you with opportunity.

Thank you for dropping by @abue

Nice one that you have share with us thanks a lot @bridgetbunchy

Thank you @felix2010 and keep up your quality truthful posts too.

Wow. That's awesome! And thank you for stopping by and upvoting my blog post today! 🤗 And you have a new follower. God bless you.

Wow! how beautiful! hats off to you man. I never found such an innovative, sincere and passionate person like you. I am very much inspired from your struggle and handwork. In fact, your hard work and your love for your task will be paid off. It is really such the great transformations with beauty i ever seen. Stay shining like this wonderland!

What an inspiration you are!! I love, love, love all the photos!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85