You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Burn in Hell, Filthy Jew" - Why being an Israeli online SUCKS

in #life8 years ago

It is weird how people have certain perceptions of others before they even get to know them just because of where they are from. I'm going to be honest I have been surprised by a couple of people here on Steemit including yourself particularly by how good their English is. It is almost what I would consider to be an American accent which is super interesting consider that English would be a second language. Also in your situation I didn't imagine the Poly life style to be something that would sort of exist in Israel. I just imagined it being very religious and very conservative.
I do admit I need to get out and travel more to really understand cultures better first hand instead of relying on random garbage from American media to sway my perceptions. I try to keep an open mind!

Sort:  

Israel has a very large secular majority. The most religious thing I've ever done was my wedding. I am also a naturist (yeah, I can let the girls swing free at certain beaches and events), bisexual and very open about all the above. There's a poly community here, a naturist community, our own version of the Burning Man Festival (called MidBurn) and scifi conventions (our version of Comicon is called ICon).
People do have a lot of misconceptions, I guess. Well, I am here to break stigmas. And if you decide to visit Israel, drop me a line (I am techslut everywhere, including Twitter). I'll be happy to help and show you around.

note from my below comment: "religious and ethnic Jews" -- I know which group you belong to, and yeah, "your group" (the non-religous ethnic Jews) well, you folks (sorry, generalizing) tend to be some of the most fun, accepting people out there. Oh, and did I mention smart as hell and hot as fuck in bed?

Okay, now you're just flattering me. Do go on!

I sound retarded in the above comment, what with "groupings" of "people"... but hell, We all belong to many groups, so with that said, here's some thoughts on (Semitic?) culture:

Oh, but you get it...

Okay, well actually its not really meant as flattery; it is sincere:

I've dated two non-religious "Jews" (is there another word, I don't know?) in my days, and well, both were extremely smart, assertive, funny... and good lord, the sexsexsexsex)-- and in my mind this is totally related to the kinds of environments they were raised in-- I went to family events with both, and they were-- interesting to say the least. This is where I'm drawing my cultural remarks from-- to say that these folks were tight-knit and all very intelligtent (meaning sharp, witty, etc) and learned (meaning if not schooled, then certainly they were well-read) and relaxed would be the understatement of the century.

So while you may not value your religious background (and you shouldn't-- no one should, really... (imagine: the middle east without religion :D)) I'd say that Jewish folk have some of the world's richest cultural heritage, and in addition to that, many methods of keeping that heritage strong through generations. This is probably why (again, generalizing) relative to other groups of humans, there's a disproportionate representation of Jewish folk among the wealthy: It's the cultural emphasis on knowledge and community, and there's no way to put a price on that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44