Phobos Fitness - A Typical Meal For me

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Nutrition is one of the most important parts of fitness.  I wanted to show a very typical meal that I will eat.  If I want to get lean I basically revolve my whole diet around salmon, rice, chicken breast, and fruit.  Now I still will shove whole cupcakes in my mouth and eat 12 Reese's Cups in one sitting but I don't do it very often and when I do I end up playing basketball for 3 hours.  I also drink a lot of water and don't drink pop.  

Now one thing to think about is that I don't count calories or any of that.  I just know that if I eat my typical diet and workout real hard that I will be fairly lean and have muscle definition.  One common myth that people have is how low your body fat percentage has to be to see abs.  In the picture below I'm probably over 16 percent body fat percentage. Possibly even 20 percent.  I have heard people say that you have to be under 10 percent to see abs but that isn't actually true.  

I hope this gives a good look at a typical meal for me.  Does it get boring eating this way.  The answer is yes.  If I'm mainly just eating the salmon, rice, and chicken breast my body will start craving sugar.  That is a big reason why I eat the fruit.  My favorite is fresh pineapple.  Not the stuff in the can.  

In future posts I'm going to talk more about specific workouts for specific goals and more about diet as well.  Let me know if you have any questions! 


Thank you for reading my post and please consider following me @brianphobos

Sort:  

Bon Apetit :-)

Thanks for checking out my proper nourishment!

Dude I´m also all for simple and functioning meals. Would highly recommend to throw some greens in the mix though. Not only for the vitamins and minerals but especially for the fibre. Some broccoli would accompany that meal perfectly and it´s made so quick and easy. Preferably cooked, or even better steamed, as raw as possible.
The reason for the sugar cravings when you only eat rice is the high glycemic index and missing fibre in white rice which spikes your blood sugar!
Personally, I like to mix white with brown rice and add greens to get rid of that problem.

Keep going! ;-)

Great info for sure. I didn't know the exact reason for the sugar cravings. I figured it was because the food was fairly bland.
What are your thoughts on the dietary fiber in fruit vs the fiber in something like broccoli?

Nothing wrong with fruit as a fibre source. Pineapple only got about 1,5 g fibre per 100g though. Would totally keep eating it though, if you like it and can get fresh ones. Pineapple offers lots of other benefits. Raspberry’s and blackberry’s are very high in fibre. Another good source for fibre and healthy fats is Avocado or flax seeds. 40 g of fibre per day is a good figure to make sure that the gut stays healthy ;-)

Oh and if you can find a tomato sauce that doesn´t have too much sugar and fat in it, it will make such simple meals taste much better without costing any more time and effort ;-)

I love the tomato sauce idea. I never thought of that! Thanks!

I could eat the same thing everyday for dinner, I never get bored. Chocolate, chocolate and more chocolate.

Good one! Nom, Nom, NOM, NOM

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99