Personal Obamacare Experience Revisited (Prepare To Be Triggered Into A Rage!)

in #life7 years ago

If everyone remembers my last post on Obamacare you will remember that despite living in a county with a million people there were only two options on the Healthcare.gov exchange.  The cheapest option was ONLY $327.37 / month with a LOW $4,200 deductible.  

Here is the plan right here.  

I called the people at the "Affordable Care Act" call center to let them know that I was pissed.  They told me that I could fill out an exemption so that I possibly wouldn't have to pay the $625 fine for not having a Obamacare plan.  I filled that out and felt like I met the criteria perfectly.  One of the ways you can get out of it is if you were dropped from the previous plan.  

They sent back a bull shit reply saying that I don't qualify for the extension.  I was instantly TRIGGERED!!!

For the last two weeks I have been getting hit with phone calls from both the Obamacare call center and from that stupid plan that I wasn't going to select from Ambetter.  They were telling me that I need to pay that first month bill so I wouldn't have a gap in coverage.  It got super annoying.  

Knowing full well that Insurance is a scam I thought maybe I should look for a plan that is an emergency plan that wouldn't be covered under the Obamacare stuff meaning that I would have to pay for insurance and also pay the $625 fine.  I found this plan.  Which after other fees was going to be $60 / month.  

Now with this plan if a major accident happened you would be on the hook for $10,000.  Which in the American healthcare system can happen in a matter of 1 day in the hospital.  

The plan only covers you for 6 months and then you have to reply.  Also you won't get coverage pretty much if you have went to the hospital or had any test run in the last 4 years.  

As a hedge against bankruptcy encase of an emergency I decided to go ahead and get that shit plan.  I still don't know if I'm covered because they have to notify you in writing if you are covered or not.  

After paying a total of $4,764 of insurance premiums the last two years and never going to the doctor once it is hard to know what the right choice is.  Do you pay these legal scam companies and hope that they will cover you if something comes up or do you just free ball it and go without insurance?  

Either way I guess I'm on the hook to pay the $625 fine for not getting an Obamacare plan.  I didn't vote for Trump or Clinton but I can say this for sure.  I hope that Trump can wash out the majority of Obamacare as soon as possible.  I would say that the part letting people stay on their parents plans until 26 years old and not disqualifying people because of prior conditions should be kept and the majority of the rest of the plan should be given a fire hose enema and cleaned out.   

What do you think Steemit?  What would you do?  

 

Sort:  

Got nothing for ya Brian. I can tell you what could have happened to that money.

$4,764 invested at a 7% average for the next 30 years would be worth $36,264.

$4,764 initial investment + $327.37 a month for 30 years would come out to $407,348.

Government 'helping' us all into reliance on them forever.

Very good point.
That sad thing is Obamacare isn't really about getting everyone insured. It is about having people who are busting their ass to pay for 5 or 10 others. And guess what? If you don't pay for their insurance then theft of $625 will be committed against you so that they can use that money to pay for some of the others.

Or, you could just pay the $625 insurance fee every year until you actually need it, then, since they can't disqualify you, pay the $4,000 when you need it.

Or you could look into healthcare in Mexico. Find a doctor down there. Learn the ropes/language. And, if you ever have a real problem, take a small trip. Its cheaper.

And, if you ever have a real emergency in america, they cannot refuse you at the emergency room.

This is a solid strategy. Especially in a situation where you need something done that doesn't require immediate emergency room attention. The only loop hole is that their is a window to sign up for those Obamacare plans and if you miss the window it is hard to get into the plan. They make you file all this stuff to explain why you didn't have coverage to start the year.

I just got back from Nogales, Mexico. I just got my root canal. But yeah Mexico is a better place to potentially get stuff done for sure. Take a medical vacation in some cases.

And don't forget that if you get cancer in US you will give up your home to pay for it! Obamacare is more than worth it!

That would suck. I figured you could rack up the bills. Pay minimum payments. If you lived you could file for bankrupcy. Some states like Arizona are homestead states which protects your primary residence from creditors and other situations. I think in the cancer situation a person here could file for bankruptcy to wash away the medical bills but I could be wrong.

Unfortunately, I think is a case of damn if I do and damn if I don't

Yeah that is pretty much right. :-(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97