Canyonlands National Park

in #life8 years ago

Canyonlands National Park in southeastern Utah was established in 1964. It is known for its  dramatic desert landscape carved by the Colorado River. The panoramic overlooks are out of this world.  The spot where I'm standing is an enormous drop off.  So big that I can imagine that people can base jump off of it.  I asked one of the park rangers if that happens often and she said it doesn't mainly because it is so hard to get back from that lower level.  You can access it by 4x4 but it is a long journey from what she was telling us.  Here is where Canyonlands is on the map for reference.  

Before we got to that spot we pulled off at the first overlook we saw and my friend Andy insisted on climbing up this big rock feature.  I felt it was very risky with his boots on and his camera equipment in hand. 

Andy made it safely!  

He then snapped a picture with his camera from up top.  

Evidently others have climbed up that as well judging by the rock pile.  

We then drove to the next location where we got some really solid shots as the sun was setting!  

Here is Andy setting up!  

Again I was mainly responsible for taking secondary shots of Matt and Andy taking pictures.  This adds another element of realism into the pictures.  

Andy took a picture of Matt as the sun got lower in the sky.  

Here is a quick pan of the scene around that same time.  

The sun was setting but there was more in store for us!  Full Moon BABY!  

Overall Canyonlands was very beautiful and our timing ended up being really good since the sun was setting and then the full moon came out.  

Andy had a Cannon 5D Mark III, Matt had a Cannon 5D Mark II, and I was  taking secondary shots with a Sony DSC-HX9V.  Matt also had a good LG  Smartphone that could take some solid pictures and video as well. If you are wondering why we have the same clothes on at three different places it is because I slept on a park bench and Andy and Matt slept in the car.  This was a budget trip and we were just camping and driving.  LEAVE NO TRACE! That was the motto!  

Thank you for viewing my post and please consider following me @brianphobos

Sort:  

He seems to want to fly high in the fourth picture.

Love it! Upvoted and you have a new follower from Canary Islands :-) Thanks for sharing @brianphobos and keep us updated

Awesome! Thank you so much!

My favorite 2 places in North America - the Canyonlands and Niagara Falls!

I still haven't been to Niagara Falls! I need to get there sometime soon.

V.few places touch the heart like these 2 do. When you first hear the roar of Niagara Falls from the car-park you know your gonna see something special! GO THERE :)

Awesome photos. I miss spending nights in the desert, so peaceful!

Yeah I love camping in these kinds of places. One of the coolest campsites I ever stayed at was at Arches National Park.

the last one(the moon) is my favorite @brianphotos! Up and follewed! (;

Thank you very much!

Nothing like a rock pile to say...

I was here

Cool post.

hahah, Yeah . Thanks!

Beautiful, great shots!

This is EPIC! I'm so grateful you share your adventures @brianphobos!!

Thank you for your support. I really appreciate it.

Beautiful pictures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60814.66
ETH 2400.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60