Sort:  

Really glad you enjoyed it - thought you might!

I do, but I'll need to come back to it later, when I'm feeling fresher :)

Even the desire to come back is a compliment, haha :). Have a good night!

LOL. Ok, let's begin with the beguine. First thought, Flannery O'Connor is one of my favorite all-time writers -- too bad she is generally unreadable to foreigners :D Second, this post is too long and should be broken up by topic for easier consumption, which totally proves your point -- I know ;) Third, ease of access (minus effort) always seems to cause laziness, but people do grow up and change for the better -- to some extent or another. Next, nuance and detail are wasted on much of the world and are therefore sometimes sacrificed (even by lovers of beauty) for the sake of getting the message across -- ironically, at the cost of our "truth." LOL at the airfare/google joke :D It is the artist's job to overcome the oblivion of the crowd and to catch its attention, somehow, but the average person has other, more pressing concerns than beauty and art -- and often, an unhealthy preoccupation with the vulgar and mundane. Interestingly enough, O'Connor was often captivated with the same general subject matter -- the limping spirit of mankind and ugliness in general. Somehow, she manages to present it in an almost supernatural suspense sort of way -- but that was because she did her job well, and is able to capture the reader's imagination. Are young people distracted? Yes. Are people in general? Yes. It is the artist's job to remove the veil that is everyday reality in order to reveal the mystical. As far as true love goes, ask someone else :D Being real both solves and causes problems in relationships, in my opinion. Overall, I find your points thought-provoking, but perhaps wasted on those of us who like to sip bits and pieces of information -- again confirming your main point. Oh well, live and learn, I guess ... Ciao за now!

haha now I have to come back to your comment lol! :)

It doesn't surprise me in the least that you're a Flannery fan. She isn't my favourite, as I have a weak stomach, but I do very much appreciate her work, as well as a lot of the 20th century Catholic authors (whom I assume you also love/would love: Evelyn Waugh, Graham Green, Sigrid Undset.. heavy themes of messiness and grace and the intermingling of that in the often wretched human journey).

Haha - yes to it being long! It was a post I had from a blog I tried to start a couple of years ago, and I decided to just post as it was, and then later I will use it as a reference point as I post about the sub-points more in case it fleshes out/gives context at that time.

Lots of good thoughts here. "..the limping spirit of mankind.." That expresses it well.

You know, it's true what you say about reality also causing problems: real relationship, and I don't just mean romantic and didn't in the article either, requires two courageous people really willing to see and delight in the reality of the person rather than some self-serving ideal of them. But it takes two, and to the extent we aren't fully courageous.. yes, I can foresee problems. We have to be wise to the reality of the lack of courage in the other person, too, I suppose. Interesting thought. I could nuance forever on this, but have already done that at length. Mostly what I meant was that we need to see people as irreplaceable individuals rather than in some sort of constant competition with potential "better" or we will never really love.

This is fodder for more articles.. you should write some, too! Ciao!

This is so much why I prefer face-to-face or at least p2p:) PM me at https://discord.gg/HpREmYS
?

Not on discord just yet - I find it so overwhelming as it is to keep up haha. Maybe soon though! It seems like it's all the rage.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58522.85
ETH 2614.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43