A Sunday Drive in the Country

in #life7 years ago

0702172021a.jpg

Today was a wonderful day. I got out of bed, dressed, grabbed my cooling vest cooler and ice packs. I was in the mood to enjoy this beautiful Sunday alone, riding along the country roads, back roads away from traffic, listening to good music.

I wanted a good 4 hours or so just to clear my head. My mind had been working overtime and I needed a mental vacation.

I live with my younger son, his wife, and their combined children of 3. The youngest 2 are ADHD and just do not get along. The 8 year,old is his from a ptevious marriage and is a boy. The 9 year old girl is hers from a previous marriage. My DIL does not like and treats me like I am some kind of stranger in my own home. She treats my grandson different than she treats her daughters. Yes, the property and the home are my son's and mine...deed, title, and mortgage.

I pay the mortgage and my son pays everything else. That has been our arrangement. I have less than 4 years left on the mortgage (It was only a 6 year mortgage).

Today during my drive in the country, I decided that my dear DIL will no longer get on my nerves. I don't care how many times she makes reference to me not being a member of the family. How many times she ignores me, like I am not even there. How many daggers she shoots at me from her eyes. I will remain in my home and not allow her to stress me out until I pay the mortgage off. Once the mortgage is paid in full, I will build a small house or buy a camper and put on my property.

I know I can coexist in this life with people that just don't like me. I must exist with a most frustrating life partner (Multiple Sclerosis) which leaves me no additional energy to deal with a nasty attitude from my DIL. I was always taught that you catch more flies with honey than you do with vinegar. LOL. Life is good, especially when you live in the country and can take a long drive on country roads. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40