You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tales From The Tomerosa: Goat Gleanings

in #life7 years ago

UV & Followed.
I had a very bad incident this week with one of my goats, I had a mother that was struggling to give birth, the baby died while still partially in the birth canal. It was very sad. And I always find it traumatizing to have to play vet on such occasions. I managed to remove the baby and secure the mothers health, then spent the rest of the week sobbing about it!

Sort:  

I'm so sorry that you had to go through that. That sort of scene has happened a couple of times here over the years, and I am so happy that you were able to save mama! We didn't have any vets in the area that could help with goats, so we always had to be the vet too, and it was so intimidating when we first started keeping goats. One time we had to do a post-mortem c-section, but we saved baby. His name was Dauntless 😊. Life sure can be painful and messy at times for sure, and I hope you are getting lots of goat nuzzles and affection nibbles from mama!

Not the first time, had to do a similar thing to a cow & calf, and did a post m c cection on a rabbit once to save the babies. part of farm life, but it gets me every time. Thank you for the kind support !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40