Insomniacs Can Dream

in #life7 years ago

AND THAT DREAM IS TO FALL ASLEEP!

That moment that you stare out your window at the most amazing sunset you could possibly imagine and think to yourself F@#K it is tomorrow already and I have been trying to fall asleep since yesterday!

This is often the case in point when it comes to insomniacs.

My run-up to sleep time normally starts off with “I can’t wait to get to my bed, I am exhausted” then as soon as I hit my bed it becomes a magical internal reminder system. Memo’s, notes and to-do lists start popping up, then there is introspection of random past life events, re-cap of the days activities, a great deal of philosophical jargon and of course sheep, yes sheep. In my case I have counted them, sheered them, made jerseys of that wool then dressed them in it. Sheep counting must be the worst possible way for an insomniac to try and fall asleep with. As a matter of fact counting any farm animals are! Nine out of ten times it ends up in a very bad rendition of the “old Mc Donald had a farm” song followed by snapshot scenes from movies such as “Babe” and “Lassie”

Oh, and you have no idea how dark the darkness truly feels to a sleep deprived insomniac, I mean it’s not like you can just close your eyes to it. Strangely by the time I am actually ready to fall asleep, I realize that it is an hour or two before I will have to get up, then immense panic sets in, because if you do fall asleep at this stage, you are likely to oversleep in the morning and you end up pushing through.

Sort:  

I feel you, I experienced insomnia for many years. I finally manged to get out of it by making a lot of sport, don't know how, but it worked. Peace

I am so happy for you.

one love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82