Insatiable Flames - Why I Started Fire Dancing.

in #life6 years ago

18 (10).jpg

How exactly does one get into fire dancing? For the love of your child of course!!

A few years back me and my daughter were living in Durban South Africa where we saw fire dancing for the first time. I found it fascinating however my daughter who was 8 years old at the time fell in love with the art and wanted to start learning how to poi. I sourced someone willing to give her lessons and booked her first sessions with her new teacher.

Sadly a random series of events took place and we had to move back to our family farm in Limpopo just before she could start lessons.

Given the small conservative nature of the community there were no opportunities for poi classes in Limpopo, and I just couldn't bare to think that I have let my daughter down, although I knew it wasn't my fault. I knew that I simply had to make things right.

I started watching YouTube tutorials in order to teach myself so that in turn I could teach her, it wasn't long before a great friend of mine; Camille - also a single mother, joined me in my quest and started practicing with me. Because we both had very draining full time jobs at the time, it was difficult to make the time for practice and progress was slow, but within a few months (and after suffering continuous self educed battering and bruising from our trial and error ways) we lit up the fire poi for the first time.

By now my daughter had since developed other interests and wanted nothing to do with poi. None the less me and my friend carried on with the fire dancing.

10 (8).jpg

Since then we have done quite a few amazing shows and also performed using fire fans, palm candles fire blades and multiple poi. We called ourselves insatiable flames and our shows varied anything from; the small business year end function, to performing for large groups of South Africa's top delegates, numerous bikers rally's and more.

My favorite of course being music festivals were we got to meet & perform for some great musicians such as South-Africa's very own Prime Circle and Cutting Jade to name but a few.

6 (12).jpg

Another favorite would definitely be the charity events that we performed at, working hand in hand with organisations such as various animal conservation groups working towards creating awareness and raising funds for the conservation of endangered wildlife, as well as other groups such as CANSA. (again to name but a few.)

Fire dancing became a great passion, but also an extra income that we were both very grateful for, and it managed to stay a part of my life ever since.

As they say: "Men might have discovered fire, but woman discovered how to play with it!"

Hope you enjoy the photo's and I would love to hear from you!

U5dryJTkzxt285RdLyVD6RDhFcNY7MN.gif

Sort:  

Great Fire Dance. Keep it up. Upvoted

Thank you so much!

This is excellent! I wanna see a video ;)

My contact staff has been rolling around my body for many years now, though it rarely gets lit. Such a yummy feeling to play with something spinning round our body. There is something truly magical about it which words cannot describe.

After spending two years in an Eco community in Bali I was asked to do a public performance there (wearing traditional outfit) which I had never done before. In the end I said yes and went for it!

That is absolutely brilliant - Well I am working on a long overdue music video, I will link you when I (finally) have it done!!

I have started on contact staff, but I have not managed to perfect any form of it yet I will get there though!!

One Love!

Can't wait for that link! THANK YOU :)

That's a great skill to have and very entertaining. Visually it looks great and physically I bet it's pretty tough too.
Nice one.

It is initially - but once you get the hang of it, it is fun all the way!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by breeze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

It's an amazing art form, and you are an amazing artist!

Thanks!

Thank you so much - however amazing is a strong word LOL

howdy from Texas breezin! hey to you guys have any videos because this looks totally amazing, I've never seen anything like it! wonderful and inspiring post!

Hey there - I am currently working on a video, not sure when it will be done, but I will be sure to let you know when it is :D

howdy there breezin! well that is going to be very interesting and much appreciated because almost none of us have any idea of fire dancing, what it is and how it's done so I know that many of us are very much looking forward to it!
thank you so much for getting back to me.

Awesome, this is great motivation for me to t it done :D

Hello @breezin, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much for the support, I really do appreciate it! I will be releasing some music soon again too so hoping that the creative juices keeps on flowing!!

And can I add that this is a stunning initiative that you are running!!

One Love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95