Having a LITTLE Look Around

in #life5 years ago

With the sun beating down on a slow Sunday morning I decided that I would embrace some scenery other than the norm, there was a small local crafts/food market where some of my friends were exhibiting and I wanted to go show some support, and maybe go find a waterfall afterwards.

Now I am not going to go through everything at the market but there were two things that really stood out for me. The first was a tiny stall displaying hand made knives, what makes these knives so special is that they were all crafted or forged by an 11 year old boy.

Timon is a young boy who spends a lot of time in his grandfathers woodwork workshop, and as a result he started making some really amazing wooden butter knives and creative letter openers, but this was not enough to keep his creative side entertained and soon he started forging knives out of old discarded equipment and equipment parts that were made from metal. Over and above the knives he started making other items like custom axes (these were already sold out when we got there)

Now I am not sure about your part of the woods, but for me this is quite an amazing accomplishment for such a young man.

  
  
  

Now Timon might only be a small boy but he certainly has a huge talent, and he certainly was not the only small thing there, and this brings me to the second item that I would like to share.

Bonsai

Bonsai's have always fascinated me, despite the fact that I have never quite had the patience to attempt to grow sculpt and maintain one myself. Below you can see some pictures I took of these compact trees that were being exhibited at the market - these were not being sold, they were only on display as a collection of art from numerous owners, and in the pictures below you can see the numerous different bonsai trees from pine trees right through to spekboom.

  
          
  

And as I am sure most markets goes, there were many other stalls displaying an array of wonderful items, and good food was the order of the day, but after spending a few hours at the market between all those people, my heart cried out for a little bit of sanctuary, and me and a few friends made our way up the mountain, where we eventually found a small waterfall where we could just sit and admire the view for a while before heading home.

  
        

Just a short little expidition that I wanted to share with you guys, I certainly hope that you enjoyed the view.

Sort:  

Hi, @breezin!

You just got a 0.57% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80