A Heart Of Gold On A Street Of Coal

in #life7 years ago

I have often walked passed beggars on the street and wondered how they have ended up there, and I must admit that I have become cellist over the years towards their requests, don't get me wrong, not in a judgemental way, more to the effect of not always being able to help, and I think that this might be why the story I am about to convey, touched me deeply.
15 miles off the capital city Sofia, Bulgaria is where Dobri Dobrev calls home, and it is from here that he used to walk all the way to the city every day, however old age and weak bones has lead the now 102 year old man taking the bus daily to the city where he spends his entire day asking passers by and any willing ear for any money that they can spare.

Then he takes all the money that he had collected and donates it to charities such as churches and orphanages, whilst he sustains himself on his meagre 80 euros (around $100) of pension that he receives monthly.

St. Alexander Nevsky Cathedral released a video in which Dobrev is mentioned to have made numerous donations over the years with his largest being that of 35,700 lev, that is more than $24,000

Upon being interviewed by Nullvoid123, a Redditor who had the privilege of meeting Dobri Dobrev on a few occasions, Dobrev stated that he once “did a bad thing,” and is now trying to make up for it by helping others.

source: http://www.huffingtonpost.in/entry/dobri-dobrev_n_4867974
Image credit: www.pixabay.com

Sort:  

It's an amazing story. I remember reading about him in the news or in a post from my Facebook feed.
One quote from him stayed with me. He said that giving is the greatest gift the we have. Or somethig similar.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.17 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

An interesting little #nuggetized story of homelessness @breezin - upvoted and added you to my auto-vote :)

still punning that tag I see... LOL
Will try my best to remember next time

It's a tough gig raising a tag on Steemit, but it's doing OK right now I see ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68140.53
ETH 3250.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65