"My Life As a Caregiver Blog" Tough days can get you down but don't let go of your dreams...

in #life7 years ago (edited)

wheel chair.jpg
I wasn't sure if I would blog tonight or not because this afternoon and evening really seemed to kick into high gear. But somehow I thought it would be good for me, and hopefully for you too, to share how the day's events unfolded.
This morning went pretty well and I can't really complain because I didn't have too many things to do. My mom helped a great deal with my dad during the morning hours so I could take a little time to myself..........Thats generally how we do it which seems to work out fairly well.
The afternoon, however, got fairly busy with work and I didn't end up getting home until around 7 o'clock. There was an accident just a few cars in front of me as I was driving to work so I'm very thankful that the Lord kept me safe. I pray that the person in the accident will be alright as the traffic cop said it was a very serious accident.
I bought my dad a special c-pap tube that heats the airflow so that it makes the airflow warmer and more comfortable to use at night. The new tubing seems to be working out well so far so we'll see how it goes. All vitals are good and I'm all done with my caregiving responsibilities for the evening.
For those that might be wondering about my part-time job.....Well, I actually work as an assistant to my sister who works in the loan industry. Even though I'm glad to have some part time work which helps me to also help caregive for my dad, I really don't see it as something I want to be doing for the rest of my life.
When I joined Steemit, I didn't realize how much I would enjoy it. Being able to open up about personal struggles, challenges and feelings has really given me a sense of focus that I feel I've needed. I hope that Steemit will open doors of opportunity for me that will be a blessing for me and my family. I would love to be able to work from home and also to be able to make my house more handicap friendly, with wider door openings for my dad's wheelchair and maybe even a walk-in shower for greater accessibility.
I have lots of dreams and goals as I think we all should. Don't get me wrong...I have more dreams than what I listed here but those were just a couple of things that seemed to come to the immediate surface of my mind. The thing is....When we stop dreaming, hoping and planning, we wither away inside and lose the biggest part of ourselves.
dreams.jpg
So, if you are going through a present struggle or difficulty, don't give up or throw in the towel. There have been many times where I felt like giving up...But somehow, by the grace of God, I held on and saw the sun shine again and remind me of how the future can still look just as bright, if not brighter than it did before! I wish you nothing but the very best and know that you all are in my prayers for the utmost success! May you feel a sense of renewed hope with new and fresh beginnings!
mountain hope.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.46 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 05 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I've done caregiving and it can really drain a person both physically and emotionally. May God bless you through your honorable endeavors. Your dad is very blessed having you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48