"My Life As a Caregiver Blog" Morning Reflections...

in #life7 years ago (edited)

morning.jpg
I'm sitting in the recliner right now as my dad is doing his foot pedal exercises. His morning blood sugar is 137.
This is what that exercise machine looks like...
pedals.jpg
Even though he has very limited mobility on his ride side, the left foot helps to propel his right foot to make the full revolutions on the exerciser. This is very beneficial for gaining flexiblity and cardiovascular strength. We've come so far from where we've come as far as his cardiovascular health is concerned, even though mobility is still a major challenge. I'll share more about what we dealt with in that area in future blogs.
My dad's morning exercise regimen is very important right now because it improves his conditioning and strength. He doesn't like doing them.......Then again, who really does like doing exercise routines, right? Speaking of which, I need to start exercising more myself as it's easy to let my exercise habits fall by the wayside.
I'm praying for my financial situation to improve so I'm not spending all of my time juggling work, caregiving and personal time. It's a tough balance sometimes. I want to give credit where credit is due because my mom does a fantastic job of being a co-caregiver as this is a 24/7/365 kind of commitment. Not for the faint of heart. I turn 40 this month and my mom turns 65. Neither one of us is above caregiving but I do pray that we can get some help now and then so that we can also have time to smell the roses a bit more.
I was seriously planning to mow my lawn yersterday as the grass was getting way too high, but I went ahead and spent the money to have it cut this time because I was simply too exhausted to do it myself. I really didn't have the extra cash but I felt like it was the right decision for now.
This blog is going to be very real and personal....I must get pride out of the way and become more open and honest. I will do my best! I will be talking about things that are sometimes painful in my life and sometimes I'll talk about the triumphs against all odds. I have hidden behind my fake smile for too long and I've decided to get real . So if you're up for the journey, then I encourage you to follow me, resteem when you like something you want to share and share your own struggles, too. I believe we can grow in the process. I'll keep on praying to God for strength along the way...
pray.png
Blessings to you all!

Sort:  

I feel for you coz I been there. I did it for my mom for her last 5 years. I was an only child and there was no one else. I thought it was the right thing to do. She did it for me when I was born. Anyways its a tough gig, so try to carve out little stuff now and again for yourself.

You definitely have been there, for sure! Thanks for commenting, the encouragement and words of affirmation!
Have a good day!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.22 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 04 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45