You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unconventional Living Vs Mainstream Living: What's Your Opinion?

in #life7 years ago

You seem to have a very soft and warm heart. And there is a saying that I know: if you wan't to have a soft heart, you need a rock-solid arse.

The truth is that people are people when they criticise others for not being them. It's a sad truth. A member majority gets knocked out of their comfort zone when interacting with someone that doesn't belong to the majority.

If anyone doesn't accept your ways - it's fine. If anyone doesn't tolerate your ways - they need to sort their stuff out big time.

I grew up with a desperate need to belong. The easiest way to crush me would be to exclude me. I grew an imposter syndrom-like thing that hit through the roof when I was leaving my first job. But I was lucky enough to meet some wonderful people who would systematically disintegrate the feeling of being not got enough into something that could be tackled. It's far from being over, especially in social interaction, things can easily get awkward.

I live in a sort of a limbo, where I don't know where to lead my life and that of my wife and children. Things are as stable as they can be with not much solid ground under my feet.

Every time I have an opinion I ask myself: what if I'm wrong? That's why I keep listening to people who leave me unsettled, who point out when I'm wrong. Cause I can be wrong, right? This fits into my belief that everyone should be a minority in something and that whatever the difference, all humans deserve respect.

I'm not even close to dropping the consumptionism. I strongly believe we all should know at least something about being self-sufficient, learn some basic skills like bread baking, or knowing how to fix things. Or asking a neighbour for help/advise. Or reaching out with a helping hand, but don't think I will ever manage to just leave it all behind, even tough I'm still only dreaming about becoming priced in and part of my limbo is some people deciding Brexit should happen even though this can crush my life. And it could help me reach certain goals in life by giving up on some others.

Bread sounds like me getting united with the roots, at least a bit, but then I'm supplied by Amazon and a couple other big stores. But then I bake a couple loaves extra and give them to my neighbours to break the ice. It's my hobby, mental safety valve, pretty much part of me. If anyone sees it as a bad thing, they need to sort it out, not my. And it's the same with you and others around you.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing such a personal comment... I appreciate it, especially at this time in my life where I too feel a bit in limbo! It's the conflict between knowing in my heart what's right for me, and not being able to make the people I love understand that. They tend to live their lives in a very 'safe' ways, fear-driven, authority-driven, making concrete plans before action. They can't understand why I bothered going to uni if I didn't want a career. They haven't a clue what it means when I say I'm earning a living through the blockchain and instead of trying to find out more, they assume it's something 'wishy-washy' and their stable jobs are a superior and 'right' way of earning income! Just for example. They thought I was selfish for going away to Gozo to get married and not invite family or friends (I told them months in advance, but they saw it as like being told about a party and not being invited. We just didn't want a fancy do, we're not those kinds of people, and that's fair enough, right?!) They thought we were crazy for moving from England to Ireland without having a home already in place... even though we found one soon after and had the best 2 years ever down in Connemara. Why does it matter so much, that's what I don't get? As long as we're all well and happy and safe?

I agree with you wholeheartedly, that we can indeed be wrong even if we can't see it, and that's one of the things that keeps me humble (and you too from the sounds of it) and willing to listen to the viewpoints of loved ones. I love that you give bread to your neighbours, that's wonderful :-) That's what community spirit is all about! I always keep that quote in mind "A heart that gives, gathers" because it really is true. I had neighbours down in Connemara who would come mow our lawn for free and without even asking, because they knew we didn't have a lawnmower! How wonderful!

Oh, I would so much want till live in Connemara!
Maybe one day...

It's a magical place! Though it could do with a few more trees... a little barren :-) We lived in a house on Sky Road in Clifden, what a view we had!

I'm glad at least you had a chance to experience that :)
But this doesn't make me any less jealous!

:-) Well then I hope you get to live in Connemara one day @breadcentric! You definitely woudn't regret it!

)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79