You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Dad's Journey with the Black Dog

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Such a revealing, personal story, @mazzle. My respect and admiration for you grows with each post you deliver.

Mental illness is so difficult to deal with since our perception of the disease often becomes muddled with the interpersonal relationships we share with the one suffering it. And as a child, even less able to understand and separate the actions motivated from the disease from normal behaviors.

We are akin in that regard. My ex-wife suffered from mental illness, and the impact it had upon myself and my children was significant. Perhaps I'll follow your lead and write about some of that in the future.

Cheers to you, and best wishes to your parents. I am so glad that your Dad found his way out and that they are able to enjoy their lives and their family.

Sort:  

Thanks @braveboat. I really need to learn your first name. I can't remember if I read it in one of your past posts or not.

I'm sorry about your ex-wife. That must have been an incredibly tough time while raising your three daughters. I find writing to be very cathartic which is why these posts pop out from time to time.

We are very fortunate that my Dad pulled through, but it wasn't without a large amount of treatment and huge sacrifice from my mother. I hope you do put your story down on paper. I'd be very keen to read about your experience.

My name is Jeff, and I'm both pleased and honored to have you as my friend here on Steemit, sir. I find myself in dire need of your first name as well...

You know, life is what it is. And I continually remind myself that as bad as I might think I've had it at times, others have had it far worse. No matter what, I consider myself very fortunate.

I'll still whine about stuff, though, so...

Cheers!

There is no harm in whining about things occasionally Jeff. My name is Ian. :)

I also have to remind myself sometimes that I've actually had a very fortunate life. And I was born in one of the best countries in the world that gives me amazing opportunities.

You've been an excellent friend to have here on Steemit. I'm very glad we have crossed paths.

Ditto, Ian. An attitude of gratitude can go a long way on a 'bad' day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62449.67
ETH 2429.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58