Success and Pleasure Cannot Fulfill

in #life6 years ago

"The eye is not satisfied with seeing, nor the ear filled with hearing ... I have attained greatness ... I set my mind to know madness and folly. I perceived this is also grasping after the wind ... I said in my mind, 'Laughter! Enjoy pleasure!' but this was also vanity. I searched in my mind how to gratify myself with wine ... I had greater possessions than anyone ... I gathered for myself silver and gold, and treasures of Kings ... I acquired every delight ... I became great, and excelled more than anyone ... Whatever my eyes desired I did not keep from them. I did not withhold my mind from any pleasure ... I surveyed all my work, all my labor, all my toil, and all was vanity and grasping after the wind ... Therefore I hated life, for there is nothing new under the Sun ..."

--King Solomon, 'Ecclesiastes'

20-anthony-bourdain-grub-diet.w710.h473.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @brandonrburdette,
a very impressive post, congratulations!
More people should read posts like this, that's why we created the project
@wonderlamp, to give undervalued Steemians a little bit more audience.
Much love and best regards
@wonderlamp
wonderlampsmall.png
resteemed, followed and upvoted

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63