You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: No Amazon Prime for me!

in #life5 years ago

I have been using Amazon Prime for quite some time. It is a very expensive service and they seem to raise the price all the time. The benefits for me are the free two day shipping (two hour shipping if I lived in a bigger city), free access to their music library, and the video streaming service. One of the things I don't like about the interface is that all shows and movies show up and you have to specifically look for the prime tag in the corner to know if it is included in your service. Otherwise you have to pay and the prices are crazy. I have never had many connection issues, but I use a Roku. The Roku's have some decent processors in them that help mitigate buffering. There are times I my Smart TV just can't hang, but the Roku plays things just fine.

Sort:  

my mother was talking about the Roku things and they sound great, particularly for someone who travels and can't depend on the technology of the place they are traveling to. However, i was just looking for something that would work in my PS4 since that is pretty much my exclusive entertainment center these days. The Amazon Prime thing not working is definitely a country-wide problem... I did some digging and found loads of people in Thailand saying that their stuff doesn't work and everyone simply gets told by Amazon that their Internet isn't fast enough.

Thailand is terrible at a lot of stuff, but their internet may actually be significantly faster than the average speed in the US. I think it's a bit shit of the company to simply blame it on user error when it is clearly not. Whatever, it's great for 'mericans and i suppose for now that is enough for the company :)

Is it possible there is some sort of throttling going on at the head end because of some beef they have with Amazon or something like that?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66984.34
ETH 2607.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66