The Miracle of Foamboard

in #life7 years ago

So I'm sure most of you have heard of Dow Chemical, the huge industrial corporation, right?

A key product they produce that is pretty much at the center of my life is foamboard insulation.

It comes in standard 4ft by 8ft sheets and at various thickness, usually 1 and 2 inches thick. It's primary use is in construction to insulate homes and buildings.

The community organization that operates out of the facility where I work was fortunate enough to get a sponsorship from the local plant that produces the product right here in illinois. So we get a huge donation of foamboard from them every year.

KIMG0180.jpg

KIMG0181.jpg

We can make some pretty neat stuff with it.

egypt.jpg
We've made Pyramids,

IMG_8388.JPG
Witches Castles,

()
Even Monsters....I guess you could say.

And then there's the sprayfoam. I'll get into this more later but heres examples of what can be done.

Image31.jpg
I made this really big turnip.

greaselightning.jpg
And I made a 57' Chevy replica for Greased Lightning

It's a great medium for creativity in many ways, and we're lucky to have an abundance of it because it's quite expensive. A sheet of 2 inch foamboard alone runs close to 25 dollars right about now.

KIMG0182.jpg
But after a production has closed, a lot of scrap material is left behind and I simply don't have the space to find ways to store it.


Such is my lot in life.

Well, reminiscing on all the seasons past things can get a little silly around here. I remembered I actually documented some of these antics in a series of videos. Now, mind you, they were taken with a very poor quality camera.


So, here we have two of the summer staffers getting silly on their break.

But then, they take it to the next level.


After having beat each other senseless with foambard scraps. Jack and Martin here didn't quite get enough.
They meticulously construct Weapons and Armor and proceed to engage in a gladiator-style battle to the death....Okay not really, but it is quite abominable.

Crazy just comes with the job.

More to come.

Sort:  

You're working in theatre ad expect there to be anything less than insanity? XD

I miss it sometimes, and I was only in the amateur theatre company while at uni :)

Yeah, what was I thinking. But I guess it's fun to let loose sometimes.

Next post..... gator joust??

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60841.72
ETH 2603.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56