How to Prioritize the Important Things in LifesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

How to Prioritize the Important Things in Life. There are important things. For me, for example, my daily walk with my dog ​​is important. Because I have my best ideas here. And good ideas play a big role in my job. In addition, the walk prevents that I go even more from the glue.

Img Src

Then there are unimportant things.

I'm not interested in TV celebrities, for example. Or which politician has just done something wrong again. I just shrug. This has no meaning for my life. That's why I'm the hump.


Of course, everyone decides what is important for one. We are all different. And we have our quirks in matters of importance. I could tell you things about me ... but back to the topic.

Because this is about: How to stop taking the wrong things too important.

Actually, this is about something else. And that's about the really important things in our lives. And that we often neglect these important things criminally, because we are so busy with unimportant shit.

So what's really important?

I'll try a definition:


What matters in the long term is my well-being and well-being. Or the well-being of my loved ones. The frequency of a thing usually has an impact on the importance:
If something touches me positively or negatively in my heart every day , it's more important to me. Anyway, more important than something that only deals with me once a month.

What is important is therefore what long-term and frequent impact on my well-being. Or the well-being of my loved ones. So ... definition finished. That was hard work.

Take the test

Now a little test for you. So if you are brave:

The test question is:

What is important for me according to the above definition?

Just read the list below and tell yourself at each point:

( Clarity and orientation make life a lot easier, so you create your own 'inner compass' .)

Is important for my long-term well-being. Or: is unimportant for my long-term well-being.

Img Src

Here is the list:

  • the TV program tonight? Important or unimportant for me?
  • how many good friends do I have?
  • how much space does my smartphone have?
  • How well do I take care of my friends?
  • How well does my favorite football club perform?
  • How safe is my job?
  • if my wine has cork or not?
  • who said what to whom?
  • my account balance?
  • which celebrity has just done something?
  • What is my average stress level?
  • Do I buy organic in the supermarket?
  • Do I have the latest TV? Or replace the latest device in the range X (X by your hobby)?
  • my health?
  • How good is my relationship with my family?
  • What do strangers think about me on the street?
  • How much money did I spend on my age?
  • how much i weigh right now?
  • How satisfied I am with my job?
  • how tidy is the neighbor's garden?

Are there any other important things for you? If yes, add it to the list.

Make a Conscious Decision

Choose from the list maybe 5 things that are most important to you. Your personal Top 5, so to speak. But maybe you have your important things in your head anyway. So ... after this little  preliminary skirmish  we come to the actual point:

Of course it is important for my well being to take care of my important things.

And it's also important not to give too much space to unimportant things. Because our time, energy and attention is limited. If we put our time, energy and attention into the unimportant things, there is nothing left for the important things.

The stupid thing is: It's so much easier to take care of the unimportant things.

That's why most of us spend a lot of time with more or less meaningless things.

Or we start to give huge space to unimportant things. Or we even open theaters of war because of issues that do not affect our well-being. After all, you can not put up with that.

For example, we are upset about things that really have little to do with our lives. Or we deal with things that are not our turn. Or we focus all our energy on other people because we are afraid to deal with ourselves.

Why are we doing this?

It's easier than going to the pots. So our really important things. And often we just do the unimportant things out of habit. Giving the important things their due is difficult. To me. And for almost everyone I know.

But it is so important.

That's why I made a list of the 5 things that matter most in my life. And I try to give these 5 things the greatest love, attention, energy and time.

For this I take this list frequently and ask myself:

  • How can you do something for the things that are really important to you today?
  • How can you make good use of your time today?
  • How can you make the most of your life today?

And that's how easy this little trick is. He works. Little note. Small habit. Great impact. And a better lived life.

Sort:  

When I read your article, a great book by the name of 'The Subtle art of Not Giving a Fuck' - Mark Manson, comes to mind. I like your article, it's similar to the book. Life is short. Only give a fuck about what is truly important in life. You only have so many 'fucks' to give :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40