What's wrong with my car?

in #life7 years ago (edited)
I have had problems with the clutch in my car lately. The clutch pedal has felt spongy and it has been difficult to change gears. My first guess was that it has to be a hydraulic problem. I opened the clutch fluid container and realized that the fluid was darkish brown. Not good! The fluids color should be light yellow. This meant that today's afternoon program would be: Bleeding out all the old clutch fluid and filling new fluid in. I have never done it before so I didn't know how it would end.

IMG_20180322_120937[1].jpg

This is what you need: a bottle with a tube, clutch fluid (actually it's the same as brake fluid), a needle, a piece of cloth, and a spanner.

IMG_20180323_154236.jpg

Attach the tube to the slave cylinder.

IMG_20180323_154813.jpg

The old fluid will go down to the bottle through the tube.

IMG_20180323_154821.jpg

First, take out the old fluid from the container with a needle.

IMG_20180323_155347.jpg

Clean the container well with a piece of cloth and then fill it up to the max level with new fluid.

IMG_20180323_155833.jpg

You will need a person to sit in the car and pump on the clutch pedal. But pump only when the slave cylinder is closed. After that, hold down the clutch pedal and you can open the slave cylinder and the fluid will come out. Repeat this method 5-6 times at least. At times you need to fill the container with new clutch fluid. Never let the container get empty, if you do that you will have air in the system!
Here is all the gunk that I got out of the system!

IMG_20180323_164241.jpg

Everything went well, actually it was quite easy. Just be sure to not let any air into the system. If you do that you're f*cked! I went out for a test drive and I realized straight away that the clutch pedal was much stiffer and that it was easier to change gears! I am so happy that I succeeded! Now I saved a lot of money when I didn't need to bring the car to a service station! :)

Btw, my car is a Honda Civic 2004.


I hope you enjoyed my post! Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

very informative post... thank you for sharing with us

Thanks for information my friend.thank you very much

This post has received a 0.08 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @borran.

You got a 3.46% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @borran!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You trying to teach us mechanical work. Thanks much

Thanks for stopping by!

so Is your car feeling well now ?

Yes! Superbly! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80