Borran's Beer Review: Rogue 7 Hop IPA

in #life5 years ago
Hey everyone!
Today, I'm reviewing an American beer called Rogue 7 Hop IPA from the brewery Rogue Ales. There are 7 different hops in this beer, that's quite rare! The hops are: Rogue Farms Liberty, Newport, Revolution, Rebel, Independent, Freedom and Alluvial. Almost all hops are alien to me, I have no idea what to expect but it will be interesting for sure!

Rogue Ales is a brewery founded in 1988 in Ashland, Oregon, United States. They brew & distill in Newport, farm their own ingredients in Tygh Valley & Independence and they even cooper their own barrels. Pretty cool in my opinion!
Rogue has entered contests held by the Brewers Association multiple times, and has received several medals: 2009 GABF Silver, 2001 GABF Bronze, 2000 WBC Silver, 2018 United States Beer Tasting Championship - Best of the NW/Pacific Region 2018 World Beer Championships - Bronze.

Source
Source


Here's a list of their most well known beers:

Dead Guy Ale
Hazelnut Brown Nectar
7 Hop IPA
Brutal IPA
Mocha Porter
Chocolate Stout
Shakespeare Oatmeal Stout
Santa's Private Reserve Ale

Source


IMG_20190216_174325.jpg

IMG_20190216_174420.jpg


Appearance: orange amber color with a medium white head.
Smell: citrus, grapefruit, grassy, malt, alcohol and some floral hop notes.
Mouthfeel: medium body, medium carbonation.
Taste: the taste reflects the aroma and it's quite bitter, not so hoppy.

I think it's a very balanced beer. Quite bitter (76 IBU) but not so hoppy. The aroma is pretty complex. This is hardly surprising given the fact that this beer has 7 different hops. I must say I'm a little bit disappointed, it's a okay beer but nothing stands out. I also prefer fruity hoppy IPAs to bitter ones. Usually this brewery delivers, but not this time! I will give it a rating 3 out of 5.

Rogue 7 Hop IPA:

BreweryRogue Ales
CountryNewport, OR United States
StyleIPA - American
IBU76
Alcohol7.77%
Score3/5

IMG_20190218_144711.jpg


Camera: Huawei Honor 7 Lite


Please drink responsibly!


I hope you enjoyed my post! Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Hey btw, I noticed you're on the OCDB whitelist so feel free to send it bids in SBD or Steem on your quality posts like this one. It gives a flat 10% profit at payout. :)

For real?! Cool! :D..I've checked the list a couple of times previously but I couldn't find my name back then.. What does it take to get selected? Because I have no idea! :P

Having been curated by OCD in the past and added to the compilation posts. Yeah it is a bit laggy that's why people miss they're names some times, we're gonna fix it that it displays the list in a different way in the near future. ^^

Okay, but I checked the list very carefully so I'm pretty sure I wasn't on the list maybe a month ago. :D...I have a question, before hard fork 20 you could vote on 7 day old posts(before the payout) right? Isn't it 5 days nowadays? One of my posts is right now 5 days old..can I still send a bid to OCBD to vote on that post? Thanks! :)

OCDB is only for 3 day old posts max but it checks the date when you send the bid, and sending bids is only allowed once every 24 hours. :D

in general you can vote posts that are 12 hours before payout, between hour 12 to 0 your vote weight drops gradually.

hope that made any sense cause it's hard to explain lol, maybe I should've tried in swedish xD

Haha! Yeah,actually I understood everything! Thanks!!:)

You got a 5.02% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @borran! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 24 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

I have not had this one, but they make some other solid beers I’ve tried. This looks pretty darn good in a hop head so this would be Something I can crush.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40