Borran's Beer Review: Killer Cucumber Ale

in #life5 years ago
Hello everyone!
Today, I'm reviewing a Canadian beer from the brewery Steamworks Brewing Company. The beer is called Killer Cucumber Ale and the style is an American Pale Ale. Cucumber...hmm..I really don't know what to expect from this beer!

The Steamworks Brewing Company is a Canadian microbrewery founded in 1995 and based in Burnaby, British Columbia. They have won several awards:
- HEROICA RED ALE: GOLD for "North American Amber Ale"
BC BEER AWARDS 2018
- WINTER LAGER: GOLD for "Amber German Beer"
BC BEER AWARDS 2018
- FRAMBOZEN: SILVER for "Fruit Beer"
BC BEER AWARDS 2018
- BARREL AGED SCARLET: Silver for "Wood and Barrel-Aged"
WORLD BEER CUP 2018
- HEROICA RED ALE: GOLD for "North American Amber Ale"
BC BEER AWARDS 2017

Source
Source


Here's a list of their most well known beers:

Flagship IPA
Pale Ale
Jasmine IPA
Pilsner
Heroica Red Ale
Killer Cucumber Ale
Kölsch
White Angel IPA

Source


IMG_20190419_203912-01[1].jpeg

IMG_20190419_204351_1-01[1].jpeg


Appearance: golden yellow color with a small white head.
Smell: cucumber, some malt in the background.
Mouthfeel: light body, low carbonation.
Taste: cucumber, some malts and light citrus.

I bought this beer just out of curiosity. I mean, why would you put cucumbers in a beer?!..Well, I didn't have high hopes and as expected it tasted terrible. I almost never pour a beer down the sink, but this time I did it. Normally I like cucumber but IMO beer + cucumber don't go together well. I'm shocked that this beer has a quite high rating on untappd. I will give it a rating 1.25 out of 5.

Killer Cucumber Ale:

BrewerySteamworks Brewing Company
CountryBurnaby, Canada
StylePale Ale - American
Alcohol4,7%
IBU25
Score1.25/5

IMG_20190422_121305-01[1].jpeg


Camera: Huawei Honor 7 Lite


Please drink responsibly!


I hope you enjoyed my post! Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Hihi, see my review of this beer here https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@detlev/wtf-cucumber-beer

and fully agree to @meesterboom - no no

Hurrah for the anti cucumber beer movement!!

Yes, I have already read it and commented on that post! :)

LOL. From the title, I also had to know what sacrilege cucumber beer could possibly taste like

xD..It was disgusting. Never buy a cucumber beer!

Yuck, that sounds foul. I agree, cucumber and beer equals no no!

Yup! I won't buy a cucumber beer again! :S

You got a 16.92% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @borran! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80