Punchcode Programming Bootcamp, Day 28

in #life6 years ago

Is there a term for the schadenfreude that you get when someone with years of programming experience also cannot get a to-do list to work properly? Its not happiness that my instructor is struggling, because I don't like to see my instructor have a difficult time. Especially since I'm paying to be there! Its a feeling of relief in knowing that even people with years of experience don't have all the answers. Its also a feeling of dread in knowing that, even when I hit my 15yr anniversary as a developer, I'll still have frustrating moments over some silly button that just won't do what its supposed to do.

But these emotions are mostly hypothetical, because I missed so much sleep over the last few days that I am basically a zombie. So I promised myself that, no matter what, I'd finish my homework at 10pm and be done for the night. There is a trade-off between my productivity after 10pm and my self-confidence. So its probably not worth it to keep on going. Besides, at my age, sleep is a very important thing that I cannot afford to lose.

sleepmeme.jpg

I wonder if there is also a term for the feeling you get when you want to build lots of cool apps and components and fill your Github with lots of neat things but you just don't have the time or energy to do it. I'm feeling that too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50