After the Bootcamp, Episode 1

in #life6 years ago

Me after coming back from Hawaii...

back.png

I was away from Github for only a week and I already feel like I have no idea what a for-loop is.

Let this be advice for anyone finishing a bootcamp: ride that wave of motivation and brainpower and keep on creating. Every day you are away from your computer makes it exponentially harder to get back into the swing of things. I am not suggesting that you continue the 10hr+ days in front of your laptop and push yourself as hard as you did during your bootcamp. That's probably the worst thing you can do and is the perfect way to suck all of the fun out of your new career choice. What I am suggesting is that you start finding fun projects that you can work on at a more deliberate pace without the pressure of meeting homework deadlines. That way you keep your brain active and you don't start forgetting the things you spent so much time learning.

Fortunately for me it has only been a week. I'm already starting to work on a blockchain auction site programmed in Solidity. Its a group project and has given me the chance to meet more people in the Vegas tech community working on exciting projects. I'll provide some updates once I make some headway on it.

One of the final pieces of advice from my instructors was to keep my Github active and keep those green squares coming. I've got some catching up to do. In addition to my job search and my desire to maintain an active blog or even turn it into a Podcast, its going to be a busy autumn. I hate to admit this but I'm already starting to miss the regimented schedule of the bootcamp. It was stressful and it was exhausting, but it was disciplined too. And I got a lot of stuff done. There was no time for Netflix and barely any time for Facebook. Now its a constant struggle to avoid turning on "90 Day Fiance" and losing hours of my day to reality TV!

No wonder I feel more and more like this...

back2.jpg

I'm still not entirely sure the direction I want to take this blog right now but wanted to let you all know that I am still alive and writing.

Sort:  

You received a vote from The Steem Mafia, have a great day and keep the posts up!
Here's our discord if you would like to join: https://discord.gg/pqFHQA

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55819.41
ETH 2522.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32