Mindtricks, It isn’t always what it seems - being visually impaired

in #life7 years ago

Due to my visual impairment I have a very active imagination. For me it is very normal to not always believe what I think I see. My mind is playing tricks on me. I guess everyone can recognize themselves in what I am going to say. However, when seeing about 5%, is does kinda happen a lot o me that things are not always what I think they are and I am starting to realize that if I don’t talk about what I saw, nobody would correct me when I am wrong about what I see. Get it? Haha. Let me explain.   

I experience different kinds of seeing things that are not what they seem. I will show you two examples that happened to me last week. What do you see on the picture below? A hydrangea, right?     

  

Sometimes you see something that has been there for ages but only now you realize you’ve never really looked at it (or noticed it). The same thing happened to me. A few weeks ago they were working on a new parking lot close to where my boyfriend lives. So I was used to seeing bricks everywhere. Although the construction site was long gone. The idea was still in my head (apparently). So I biked past the hydrangea and I was completely convinced that it was a leftover pile of bricks. Haha! I even had my boyfriend look out his window to see it, but of course he couldn’t see it (thinking it wasn’t the right angle to see it). Later on, when we went out for some grocery shopping, I made him walk around the building to see the bricks. Only to find out that it was just the hydrangea that has always been there!   

Just the other day I was in a store with y boyfriend and I bought this greenish coat. We joked that it would be funny if I bought that same coat in a dark blue colour since it would match his coat. So we’d be cool haha. The store did not have the blue coat in my size so I went for green. A few days later I changed my mind and I wanted to return the green coat and try to look for a blue one. Maybe they have my size again, you never know. This time however, I was alone. Meaning that it is hard enough to find the right coat with the right size. I saw 4 darker coats so I only had to make photos of those 4 price tags (I use my phone to zoom in on photos so I can read the sizes and prices). It’s a bit intense to do that with everything I see in a store but I only came for that coat so it’s doable.  I was so happy that I found the blue coat in my size hat I wore it the next day when I went to see my mother. I told her the story about that it would be funny if my boyfriend and I both had the same(ish) blue coat and that I went back to the store to get it. Well, long story short… She laughed at me and told me I bought a black coat instead of blue. If I did not tell my mother that I thought it was blue… Who knows how long it would take for me to realize that it was black? Haha, so not everything is always what it seems. By the way, this is not the first time that I bought something in the wrong colour. I walked with a grey bag for weeks when I found out it was actually green.. oh well.   

Can you relate to this? Even with a normal vison? Haha. Let me know, I am curious of what you thought you saw that wasn’t really what you saw.   

@boosje

Sort:  

So crazy how our subconscious fills in the blanks and creates such a vivid memory of something that isn't actually what you thought. Awesome post

Awesome blog, thank you for sharing this with us @boosje123

awesome dude,i like your posts,they are just cool.
please dont forget to upvote me back.

nice post ,thanks for your effort :) .
i will be happy if you check free courses which i post, like :

 - How To Start A Business With No Money
 - How to Create Effective Presentations with Great Design Tool - a 35 $ course FOR FREE
 - a 200$ course For FREE - Personal Finance: A Rewarding Money Management System
 - Drop Shipping Products for Beginners...etc

haha Life is short , we must use our time wisely

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.14
ETH 2392.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63