Is it discrimination if I get paid less because I am visually impaired?

in #life7 years ago

Am I attractive enough for employers to hire me if my vision affects my work? Due to an eye condition I have a vison of about 5%. No wonder my reading abilities are affected by it but am I still equal to other (normal sighted) employees?   

         

Here is something to think about:   Is it the amount of time and energy I put into my work that needs to be payed/valued or is it the amount of work that is done at the end of the day? For example, a normal sighted person might do 30 work cases in 8 hours and goes home satisfied and with a bit of hunger. But a visually impaired person might do 25 cases in 8 hours and goes home completely exhausted and with headaches.    

Do you value the hard work or the finished work? Should the visually impaired person be payed less despite needing to work harder in order to accomplish the same (in comparison with a normal sighted person) or should the visually impaired person be payed equally despite getting less work done?   

What is fair?  

 In my case… I did not study all these years to sit around the house, I want to be able to do something, to be independent and earn my own money. It is one of my fears that people do not see my many qualities but that they only see what I can’t do…  

 What do you think? What is fair?   

@boosje123 

Sort:  

Its a real blog. Nice post thanks for share

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59085.79
ETH 2543.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36