HOLY….. a 6.7 (Richter’s scale) earthquake at Kos was the start of my holiday (with pictures)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Omg… I have never ever experienced something like this.  Let me tell you my story.   

My boyfriend and I were looking very forward to our vacation at Kos. After a long day of traveling we arrived at one of the best resorts on the Island. Although we were tired, we still wanted to enjoy our first night so we went out for drinks. It started out as such a lovely night. After a while it was time to go to bed. Two hours later we woke up in pure panic!   

I woke up in pure panic, not knowing what was happening or where I was (I was a bit disoriented because of the first night in a strange bed). My bed was shaking very hard, my nightstand was moving and the lamp on my nightstand fell off. Meanwhile it was pitch black because the power went out for a short period. I was screaming/gasping for air and I felt hands all over me because my boyfriend tried to grab me, so that I was safe. I thought he was making sounds too but it turned out that it was me, so weird. The mirror on the wall was shaking and it all just sounded like you were in the middle of a very big and loud thunderstorm. It only took a few seconds (I’ve read somewhere that it lasted about 10 seconds).   

After the first earthquake was done, my boyfriend jump out of bed to look outside on the balcony what was happening. At first we weren’t sure if it was an earthquake. We saw other people walking towards the see. Then it started to shake again. Only a little bit this time so we were standing in the door opening (which is not something they teach you in school or anything in the Netherlands.. I just watch a lot of TV).   

We decided to grab some clothes and go outside. I could already hear the sirens down the street. A this point it was about 1:35 at night. We found most people at the entrance of the hotel. A lot of people were wearing their bathrobes and some people (boys) only wore a boxer and were walking on bare feet. (Indicating that they ran outside immediately).   

By now we were waiting outside among a few 100 people. I must say that most people remained very calm. We got water and q blanket from the hotel staff (who handled it really really really well). I did smell and saw some vomit here and there but I did too almost faint and throw up (while we were still in our room.. luckily it did not happen because there is no time for such things when you actually have to leave the room).   

After three hours of waiting outside (and still feeling the ground shaking) my boyfriend and I were lucky enough to go back to our rooms (after they were checked). Our complex had no damage what so ever. However, other people in the main building were not so lucky and most of them spent the night outside on chairs that they got from the pool and the terrace.    

Although we were back in our room, we did not really sleep anymore. There were still some aftershocks (is that the right word?). And every time we felt it shaking again, we were sitting straight up in our beds. I did not let go of my boyfriend’s hand..   

The next day was so unreal. The whole day, people were outside, some of them had their luggage with them. Others were still wearing their bathrobes. While my boyfriend and I went to eat breakfast in the hotel. It was only after breakfast when we saw the real damage of the earthquake. We decided to rent bikes and go to Kos city.   

Luckily no one in our hotel was hurt. Unfortunately, 2 people died in Kos city because the roof of a bar collapsed. Furthermore, 130 people were injured.  

Below are some pictures we took the day after the earthquake. Out of respect for the other people I am not showing you how the entrance with all the people looked like. Sadly, some beautiful old buildings in Kos city were very damaged.   



@boosje        

Sort:  

Terrible news my girlfriend and I had are very first holiday together in kos hope things get better soon, cheers mike

That damage is unreal. Thanks for sharing and im glad you are ok

i think it was a big earth quick

This deserves some attention. Upvoted and resteemed :)

As a greek having friends living there, I can assure it was a really big hit not only in the local tourism but also for the private properties (the last thing we need right now with tje situayion going on) Several people were killed also and even more injured :(

In glad you are ok, and I hope you will enjoy your holidays without further problems

I was glad we stayed, I had te best vacation ever after we could set our minds to it. We spoke to some people from the shops, they said they lived there for over 50 years but they had never experienced something like this. I was amazed by the hotel staff, they were so great and kind to us. But lso the peole we spoke who lived there.The earthquake was somthig that happened to everyone and of course not ony the tourists. I felt lucky (and guilty) to say that I could get home to a safe place after the vacation but for many people that was not the case. I have respect for the Greek who where so kind and brave.

Wow. Sorry that you have to pickup the pieces of that earthquake. At least your alive.
Thanks for pics

Huge damage and loss of property

I am really amazed at the damage I mean Greece is in bad shape but is not a third world country, here in Honduras which is a third world country we had a 7.1 earthquake back in 2009 and the damage was not as much, I have seen other pictures of the damage in Greece which are much worse than the ones you show, I wonder why this would be, I can't believe we have better building requirements than the Greeks.

I am a psychologist so I must say that I am not really an expert haha. But I heard people say that it was mostly the buildings built before a previous year that were in bad shape. Earthquakes are common in that area (so I've read). And I heard a man in our hotel say that the hotel was built earthquake proof. The pictures with the most damage where mostly taken in Kos city itself, which I believe are not the newest, high quality building. Maybe this will help you understand more. Or maybe that someone else knows more of it?

Good enough answer, but many houses along the north coast of Honduras are nothing more than thatch and mud and they suffered very little damage, I would thing Greek construction standards are better than what we have, I am just curious, by the way I think your pictures are great.

Hmm, that is weird indeed.

Oh my goodness! I'm glad you're safe - that must have been really scary to go through.

Hello i am your new follower .i love greece , thx for the pictures ... ceep on going sven

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63013.55
ETH 2460.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64